Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-10-2015, 06:26 PM   #1

Lay over at truck stops / service plazas

OK, I am new to this 5th wheel experience. I am looking for advice for when I travel across country. I am told that I can park at Flying J or Pilot without much difficulty. I need to know a few things.

1) Can I leave the trailer connected to my truck to use it with the slides or at least the bedroom slide deployed?

2) Should I assume it is best to unplug the trailer from the truck so as not to discharge the truck battery?

3) should I deploy the stabilizing jacks just to support the load, not necessarily lifting it from the truck?

I am doing this so as I can get as much driving in until my first lengthy stay in SD from the east coast.
CTGREG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2015, 06:38 PM   #2

1) Yes, I have done this in Rest areas, just be sure that it is out of the way for traffic moving thru.

2) Correct, nothing will ruin a morning like a dead TV battery.

3) If you wish to, I just use the rear sab jacks.
Old 04-10-2015, 08:48 PM   #3
Always Learning

1) I'm much more cautious about deploying my slides in truck stops. I find truck stop parking spaces usually aren't big enough to fully deploy a slide. I'll often look for a spot where I can park so that my slides deploy over grass or something other than another parking spot. I would never take up 2 spots in a truck stop. For lunch and dinner stops, I've been known to put a traffic cone out to try and help someone coming around the corner and not being prepared for my slide.

2) Yep.

3) We have a fifth wheel and will deploy the front landing gear to take some bounce out of the setup.