Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-21-2017, 06:39 AM   #1

New Battery Drained!

I am new to Camper camping and my, new to me, pop up had a Brand New marine battery drained in 5 weeks of just siting in my garage!
Since there is nothing drawing power, should this happen or am I supposed to unhook the battery in between usage?
This was from Easter weekend till yesterday --- brand new deep cycle marine battery.
It was not drawing power since the pop up main panel was off and it's mostly used for the electric lift system in the pop up! Or could I of drained it last time I used it for 2 nights in the driveway?

Help--- give me the battery basics
Heymirth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2017, 06:47 AM   #2

There are other things that draw power that are not controlled by the batter cut off. You could/should disconnect one cable and/or attach a battery tender to maintain charge. That's my advice others may advise differently.
Old 05-21-2017, 06:56 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by A32Deuce View Post
There are other things that draw power that are not controlled by the batter cut off. You could/should disconnect one cable and/or attach a battery tender to maintain charge. That's my advice others may advise differently.
X-2 Youroo
Old 05-21-2017, 07:01 AM   #4
Site Team - Lou

There are small drains to the battery even with the panel "off".

There some items powered constantly like the radio power (to keep time), the propane leak detector, power to the lift system, front jack, and something called "internal resistance" which will discharge a lead acid battery just sitting on the bench. (about 1/2 amp total).

Running the top up and down can draw 15-20 amps each time you open and close it.

Popup batteries are usually about 75AH of capacity. That means at an average constant 5 amp draw it will go from full to empty in 15 hours (75AH).