Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-13-2015, 10:22 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 16
New sabre 36QBOK heat and air.

Ok, New camper (picked it up Saturday) and working on things that don't work the way I think they should. First is A/C air flow to vents.. Not much of it. I pulled the cover off of the main unit and found that the duct work was not connected properly from the factory. I will be patching some holes in the taping of the unit to stop air from being pulled from the attic space. I have attached some pics. I am not happy with the furnace duct work either so I will be looking at options. Has anyone made any changes to the furnace ductwork?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1914.jpg
Views:	152
Size:	277.7 KB
ID:	68402   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1915.jpg
Views:	157
Size:	289.4 KB
ID:	68403   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1916.jpg
Views:	157
Size:	308.2 KB
ID:	68404  
__________________

__________________
TheOrrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2015, 12:01 AM   #2
Fulltime family RVer
 
ependydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 14,729
Sadly, seems common. I asked that my ducts get looked at for the same reason- low airflow in the bunkhouse.
__________________

__________________
2012 Ram 3500 DRW/crew cab/long bed/4x4/4.10 gears pulling an early 2013 Sabre 36QBOK
Checkout my site for RVing tips, tricks, and info | My family and I have fulltimed since June 2015
ependydad is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2015, 06:56 AM   #3
Oklahoma Proud
 
MillerTime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: central OK
Posts: 2,774
Not the furnace ducts, ours work great! On the ac vents, our 36 seems to leak air into the attic area. Found that out when i was removing one of the attic vents last summer. Our Sabre has been at the dealer since just before thanksgiving, and they are suppose to check the ac duct work to see if its all sealed or to seal it better.
Good luck!
__________________
MillerTime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2015, 07:49 AM   #4
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
My sabre was missing the plenum for the a/c .
It also had incorrect ductwork for the main bedroom.
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2015, 01:04 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
dicky1243's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: SD
Posts: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheOrrs View Post
Ok, New camper (picked it up Saturday) and working on things that don't work the way I think they should. First is A/C air flow to vents.. Not much of it. I pulled the cover off of the main unit and found that the duct work was not connected properly from the factory. I will be patching some holes in the taping of the unit to stop air from being pulled from the attic space. I have attached some pics. I am not happy with the furnace duct work either so I will be looking at options. Has anyone made any changes to the furnace ductwork?
I thought mine was bad when p/u new had to take 3ft out of one heat tube that caused loss of flow now 2yrs later thermostat (dometic) 10 button won't work on heat unless you turn it off and then turn back on at 145 each i'm goin to sell the trl. and get another one.
__________________
2006 Gmc
2016 Forestriver Sierra 376 BHOK
Full Timers
Dick,
dicky1243 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2015, 05:52 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 10
Exclamation Heat and Air

Seems most of us have these issues with faulty duct work (perhaps many more do not realize they have shoddy duct work) On the assembly lines the units are visible during assembly so why is it we have to quality control the products? It would be so easy on the assembly line to ensure the seams are taped and no holes are left unsealed. This type of repair is so basic, it concerns me on what issues ( safety in nature) are passed over.
__________________
The Villager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2015, 07:46 PM   #7
Fulltime family RVer
 
ependydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 14,729
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Villager View Post
Seems most of us have these issues with faulty duct work (perhaps many more do not realize they have shoddy duct work) On the assembly lines the units are visible during assembly so why is it we have to quality control the products? It would be so easy on the assembly line to ensure the seams are taped and no holes are left unsealed. This type of repair is so basic, it concerns me on what issues ( safety in nature) are passed over.
There are lots of threads here on FRF concerning RV quality control. I doubt we need to rehash it here.
__________________
2012 Ram 3500 DRW/crew cab/long bed/4x4/4.10 gears pulling an early 2013 Sabre 36QBOK
Checkout my site for RVing tips, tricks, and info | My family and I have fulltimed since June 2015
ependydad is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2015, 08:00 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by dicky1243 View Post
I thought mine was bad when p/u new had to take 3ft out of one heat tube that caused loss of flow now 2yrs later thermostat (dometic) 10 button won't work on heat unless you turn it off and then turn back on at 145 each i'm goin to sell the trl. and get another one.
Several people have replaced the factory stats with home units the only thing they needed to do was to add a switch for the two speed fan. might be an option unless you just want a new camper.
__________________
TheOrrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2015, 08:33 PM   #9
Site Team
 
asquared's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 10,373
Maybe this is why my living area has trouble staying cool in the summer.
__________________
<a href=http://i62.tinypic.com/28rp645.jpg target=_blank>http://i62.tinypic.com/28rp645.jpg</a>
2014 Crew Cab Chevy Silverado 3500 4wd Duramax/Allison
2014 Sabre 34REQS-6
asquared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2015, 08:52 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by asquared View Post
Maybe this is why my living area has trouble staying cool in the summer.
Could be also look at the front side to see if the intake is open to the attic area. if so it will pull hot humid air from the attic. Mine is open to the attic around the wiring for the unit. easy fix.
__________________

__________________
TheOrrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sabre

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00 PM.