Old 03-23-2014, 10:22 PM   #1

Newbie black water tank question

I'll be honest, I didn't look real hard to see if a thread already exist on my question, but I'm new to the RV world and looking to learn.

My question is how often does the black water tank and grey tank need to be emptied. I have a Wolf Pack 28wp toy hauler and from March to November the trailer will be used every other weekend going to races. If the black water tank isn't even 1/3 full should I empty it or can I wait till it gets to 2/3 full.

Will leaving the "stuff" in the tank over two weeks a bad idea (waiting for it to reach 2/3 full) or should I empty every time?

Thanks for your help

Old 03-23-2014, 10:40 PM   #2

I would empty every time you use it the stuff as you put it will solidify in the bottom of your tank and you will get build up. Once it starts it will continue until you have to do something about the build up. Your better off adding extra water to the black water tank if its that low then dumping it. Also if you don't dump it it will stink bad, been by a farm spreading liquid manure bad. You don't want to leave it.

Old 03-23-2014, 11:07 PM   #3

That's what I figured. Thanks for the help.

Follow up question, when do you put the chemicals in the black water tank? After you drain the tank and use it again?
Old 03-23-2014, 11:14 PM   #4
TeresaInCAL

After you dump, run some clean water in there, and put the chemical packet, or whatever you decide to use.
TeresaInCAL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 11:15 PM   #5

Funny, I would say the exact opposite. If you are going to use it every couple of weeks, and you leave plenty of water in it, it will be fine to go every other trip. I have been doing that for 3 years and never had a problem. Look up the GEO method for black water tank management. Now, if it is hot and you don't have plenty of water to dissolve "the stuff", then you can have issues.
Fiver: '15 Puma 295BHSS Anniversary Edition