Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-24-2012, 11:55 PM   #1

Newbie here. Towing capacity questions.

We are going to buy a fifth wheel at the end of next month. Our towing vehicle will be our 2002 F350 extended cab dualie. All the dealers at the RV shows say we can pull anything but I think we're only legal to pull up to 14,000. At the Last RV show we fell in love with a 2012 Forest River Sierra 365SAQ but it's around 12,000 lbs just in dry weight and we're afraid once fully loaded it will exceed the 14,000 lbs we can tow. Any thoughts? My husband is really concerned about the weight issue and it's making him think we should look into lighter weight fifth wheels. His choice, if we can't get a Sierra, would be a new Keystone Montana High Country 333DB. I've only seen it in pictures but the bunk room looks to be cramped & it doesn't have a king bed option . It is about 2,000 lbs lighter though.

Approx. How many pounds of stuff do you generally carry for long trips? We will be spending a month or more at a time in our RV.

Do you often get pulled over & weighed? If so, what happens when you are over weight?
What are you all allowed to tow & how heavy is your trailer?
PilgrimSoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 01:39 AM   #2
Site Team

Run the numbers on paper and see where they fall. Experienced members here can help compute the math and offer feedback on this setup. Some of the numbers needed will be the GVWR of the RV and truck. With towing other factors can come into play as well.

Often stuff can add up more than one would think in weight so having a good size buffer will be helpful prevent a problem.