Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-10-2017, 07:51 AM   #1

One has to wonder.

With all the discussions on tire blowouts, I witnessed two things this morning that makes me wonder....how many of these blowouts are..."Self Inflicted" ? I'm coming back from my kids place about 15 miles out of city at 5am CST...(morning goat feeding) and heading down the highway...posted 65mph and I see a vehicle approaching from the rear...quite rapidly. A small SUV passes on my left...to fast to make out model, but towing a dual axle popup. I was curious as how fast they were going, so I sped up to 80mph and they were still pulling away from me. I backed off to 65mph only to be passed by a large F350 with an XLR toyhauler traveling faster than the SUV with the popup. I've been towing Travel trailers for 33 years and I do not know of a single RV tire designed or rated for the speeds that these two were traveling at. You just have to wonder.
TheWolfPaq82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2017, 08:07 AM   #2
Pickin', Campin', Mason

Well, I believe some of it might be self inflicted.

I've followed many a folk who cut a corner short and rode up over the curb and didn't even realize it or maybe hit a pot hole that could have been avoided. Some folks don't seem to see more than 10 feet in front of their rigs and oblivious to what's behind. And like you said, I too have had many pass me doing 80+ MPH.

With that said, these inexpensive tires the factory uses are so poor though that one pot hole or one time running over a curb and they are toast. They just can't handle even the smallest of abuse.

In my case, I got a season and a half from my factory Castle Rocks and then they started coming unglued. Two of the four had noticeable bulges in the tread and another just looked funny.