Old 06-18-2013, 10:00 PM   #1
2012 Micro Lite 21 FBRS

Please - Opinions needed

Thinking about a metal sided Travel Trailer. Selling a fiberglass sided unit. I live in the deep south where the humidity gets rough in the summer

I would like to hear from experienced owners of both. I don't want to run the a/c continuously to keep cool. R values of the Tin sided are the same as most foam block insulated walls (R-7) Are they both about the same as far as air tightness, leaking humidity in, etc? TIA

Old 06-18-2013, 10:12 PM   #2
MI Camperz

Well, I'll first say I am no expert..no how. I prefer the aluminum sided type b/c they are less expensive to repair should water damage occur. You can repair a section...whereas in a laminated type, de-lamination requires sometimes replacing entire walls and is very expensive. That's my understanding. I would be crushed to have to suffer delamination, as expensive as they are to begin with. Insurance doesn't pay b/c keeping water out of these fabulously built RVs is the owner's responsibility and requires constant vigilance.
I have owned both...but under different conditions, so I can't draw a direct comparison.

Old 06-19-2013, 03:49 PM   #3
o

Have owned botth. Bought a 2013 metal sided. Eaiser to clean...easier to repair....no seperation bubbles.
Old 06-19-2013, 10:47 PM   #4
2012 Micro Lite 21 FBRS

Old 06-20-2013, 12:04 AM   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guapotims View Post
Thinking about a metal sided Travel Trailer. Selling a fiberglass sided unit. I live in the deep south where the humidity gets rough in the summer

I would like to hear from experienced owners of both. I don't want to run the a/c continuously to keep cool. R values of the Tin sided are the same as most foam block insulated walls (R-7) Are they both about the same as far as air tightness, leaking humidity in, etc? TIA