Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-24-2012, 01:08 PM   #1

pulling camper with full fresh water tank?

Hello I am new to the camping world I bought my 1st travel trailer and was just wondering if it is a good idea to fill the fresh water tank @ home then pulling the trailer to my camping destination.We will be camping for 1st time with it @ a campground 45 miles away.Thanks
pchrcane65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 01:45 PM   #2

There have been some mixed reviews from both sides. 1 being the added weight your towing around @ 8.3lb/gallon of water. 2 being some trailers have very wimpy straps that hold the fresh water tanks to the TT. Some people fill it and go. I've hauled with full fresh water tanks before but normally I use full hook ups and drink from bottled beverages mostly containing water and barley mixture of some sort.
Old 05-24-2012, 01:47 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by pchrcane65 View Post
Hello I am new to the camping world I bought my 1st travel trailer and was just wondering if it is a good idea to fill the fresh water tank @ home then pulling the trailer to my camping destination.We will be camping for 1st time with it @ a campground 45 miles away.Thanks

Welcome! That is fine to do although most campgrounds will have fresh water on site. If they dont have it on the actual site there will probably be a filling area by the park entrance.

Most sites will have the following:

1. Electric Only (you need 30amp im assuming)
2. Water & Electric (usually 30amp but can be 30 or 50amp, water)
3. Full Hookup (usually 30amp, 50amp, water and sewer)

What trailer do you have? And what is your tow vehicle? Water can add quite a bit of weight to your trailer. Thats why I usually fill up when I get there.

Good luck and have a great time!

TV = 2016 F-150 5.0L SCREW
Pit Crew: DW (Robin)
Kids: 9yo DD (Riley), 5yo DD (Kennedy)