Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-29-2016, 09:14 AM   #1

rookie mistake

So, I am a newbie on my first RV A 2016 Shamrock 183FTL bought new two weeks ago. . I made a boneheaded rookie mistake; I thought if I pulled the trailer brake pin, in addition to chalking all the wheels it would help stabilize the trailer like your emergency brake on your vehicle. I now know that it will totally drain your batteries, and I have since learned that lesson the hard way.
I have a couple of questions in my effort to manage my school of hard knocks decisions.

1. Do I need to bet a new batteries(s) x2 wired in parallel? Can I put them on a trickle charger and bring them back to life.?

2. What's the likely hood I inadvertently damaged my trailer breaks? ( I have a friend who was a truck driver and auto mechanic, I will probably be asking him to take a look.

Well, live and learn I guess.
shamwow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2016, 09:20 AM   #2

Contact the Axle MFG "Dexter" and ask them about the Brakes! They will give you proper Info! Youroo!!
Old 06-29-2016, 09:29 AM   #3