Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-16-2013, 09:12 PM   #31
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 142
If you are connecting to a cable connection the RG6 is most likely going to the regular antenna booster first. This will not work with Directv as you cannot have splitters etc. on the input side between the dish and the receiver. Disconnect this connection and connect it directly to the receiver input.
__________________

__________________
meandmylabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 09:16 PM   #32
Member
 
Stanleyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grey9712 View Post
It's not a phone line it's end fits in the rg6 cable.
Do you have a pic of it?
__________________

__________________
Stan, Wanda, Sheray, Alex, Nicky, and Macky(the Chorky).
2013 Prime Time Avenger 33BHS
Stanleyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 09:32 PM   #33
Senior Member
 
JDWeir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: In the desert
Posts: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grey9712 View Post
It's not a phone line it's end fits in the rg6 cable.

I seem to recall a flat coax cable to use for coming in through a window, its flat so that you can close the window.

YMMV
__________________
TV, 2000 Dodge RAM 2500 Quad cab short bed, Cummins 5.9, Edge Comp, Gauges.
5ver, 2011 Palamino Sabre 31 RETS.
JDWeir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 09:46 PM   #34
Senior Member
 
jimh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lake Charles, La.
Posts: 1,531
the window feed thru would be my guess also. or if they don't have a short cable to attach to the dish, it could be used to connect there and the other end to the sat finder. that way u can watch the meter as u adj the dish.

when ur looking for the sat, turn the control (on the sat finder) all the way up then start searching (moving the dish back and forth then change the plane a little and repeat). once u get movement, try zeroing it in. adjust the meter gain (that control) down to keep the needle around half way or less on the scale.
if ur aiming a single LNB, it should be easy. if u have more than one LNB (feed horn), it is a little trickier...
__________________
jimh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 09:54 PM   #35
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 145
I read through some old threads and it is for going through a window!This solves my previous issue now to just get the signal sorted out.
__________________
Grey9712 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 02:58 PM   #36
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 145
I got it today!
__________________
Grey9712 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 03:16 PM   #37
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grey9712 View Post
I got it today!
Great!


Turbs
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 03:22 PM   #38
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 145
I made a box for the receiver and tried to hide as much cord as possible.I ended up having to use the flat cable but at least it works.
__________________
Grey9712 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 07:09 PM   #39
Senior Member
 
jimh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lake Charles, La.
Posts: 1,531
enjoy. glad u have it working!
__________________
jimh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 07:52 PM   #40
Senior Member
 
Freds342's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vinster30 View Post
You must use and have RG6 cable. The photo shows that your connection is for Cable and may not be RG6. You said that you did a direct connection, was that a RG6 cable?
I used RG-59 for 10+ years with DirecTV, with virtually no degradation. RG-6 is for long runs, and RV's can work fine with RG-59. My MoHo still has RG-59, and I get fine HD service. My long (50') cables are RG-6, but only because the connectors for '59 are hard to come by these days.

I just retired from Northrop Grumman as a Principal Information Technologist, specializing in Microwave, Satellite, and data communications.

There are probably a thousand websites that show the loss difference between 59 and 6 at the sat frequencies, and the short runs that we use make 59 very applicable, due to its flexibility and lack of set memory (being laid out into a particular config, particurlarly in sunny or cold spots). Short corners in 6 also cause "cold flow", moving the center conductor off center, causing greater loss than 59 might have for the same turn radius.........

Rant off!
__________________

__________________
2005 Georgetown 342DS XL, Full Banks Package
2005 Liberty Renegade 4X Toad
1989 Wrangler Sahara Toad
1984 19.5' Beachcraft i/o 5.o liter, 4-bbl (and you thought your Moho sucked gas!)
D/W Carole and Maggie the Teacup Lab (Black Chihuahua)
Freds342 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20 PM.