Old 04-17-2016, 08:57 PM   #1

Shocker Hitch

Receiver Air Hitch
Anybody running one of these on their rigs? If so, good thing or not?
I talked with a guy today who made his own air ride hitch. Said it made a big difference when "shockwaves" are sent to the trailer from the hitch due to bumps in the road. Said he got tired of opening the trailer after a trip and picking up crap tha had fallen out of the frig and cabinets.
He said that I would not need the torsion bars on the WDH (I have a Equalizer 4 Point) if I used his air ride hitch.
A couple of questions,
If I get this "shocker hitch" do I discard the torsion bars on my Equalizer?
And sway bars. Does the Equalizer 4 point also do sway control ( I thought it did, but I'm new at this) or should I count on the sway controller on my TV?

Thanks,
RMc

Old 04-17-2016, 09:10 PM   #2

I looked @ the shocker hitch but I would have to make a adapter for my Equalizer hitch . Plus I didn`t want to deal with a air bag. Yes your EQ hitch is weight dist and sway all in one . This is what I put together and it works great . Down fall is its heavy .
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1078.jpg
Views:	105
Size:	368.0 KB
ID:	105266  

Old 04-17-2016, 09:11 PM   #3
Who Dares, Wins

That is not a weight distribution hitch. It may take out the bounce but I doubt it will do anything for sway. I guess if you had a large enough tow vehicle.. But I still run my sway and WD and my truck can pull twice the trailer I have.

Pat, Jen & Heather... Oh yeah and our trained attack trailer cat, Cinnamon-EOW 11/22/2017
2015 ChevyHD D-Max
2018 Artic Wolf 315tbh8
doc73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2016, 09:22 PM   #4

Plus I think the shocker was rated @ 10k , not enough for my trailer . one I put together does weight dist sway control and smooths out the ride .
Old 04-17-2016, 09:38 PM   #5