Old 03-28-2012, 11:53 AM   #1

Some Thoughts on Ownership....

Over the last few years I became fascinated with the idea of Rv’ing as a form of travel. One thing has led to another and we now are part of the many that travel around with our houses in tow. The idea and urge behind our move to the RV world was that it would give me a chance to see some things in our backyard that we have not experienced and more than anything get to spend time with my kids outside in a ever changing setting. I travel quite a bit for a living and have spent my fare share of nights in a hotel room away from my family. Not exactly what I would call an enjoyable experience and anytime we vacation part of the trip seems all too familiar and stressful to me (ie. airports, rental cars and hotels). The idea of an RV seemed different to both my wife and I. Your own Bed, Linens, food and the ability to drag really anything the kids want to take along. You are not limited by the size of your suitcase. All of this sounded different and exciting to try something new.
After renting a few times (Highly recommend if you are un decided)…we jumped in head first and have not looked back. We have taken three trips since picking up the RV in February and my son is over the moon. It has taken much more effort than I ever anticipated just stocking the trailer for use. The idea for us is to hook up, fill it with food and some clothes and hit the road. We are very close to being to that stage and it feels pretty nice. I have gotten to the point that towing the unit has become a non event….I was so nervous the first time I pulled on the entrance ramp with this huge box on the hook it made my stomach upset!!!