Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-27-2014, 01:56 PM   #1

Question Stop over near Savannah GA? Have you stayed in a Walmart Parking lot before?

In a couple of weeks I will be traveling from OH to the FL Keys with my family and parents. We want to offset travel costs by parking in a parking lot overnight to catch some zzz's before continuing on the journey.

I have no experience with this - is it called boondocking? I have read that 24 hour Walmart's will let you stay in their parking lot as long as we buy something from them. Have you ever done this? Is it awkward? Should we tell the store manager what we're doing?

If the Walmart doesn't work - is there anyplace you would recommend we stop around Savannah GA? I don't want to stay in an RV/camping place because we'll only be there a few hours overnight - but at the same time don't want to get woken up by the police.

Thank you!
Old 02-27-2014, 02:02 PM   #2
Always Learning

The definition of "boondocking" is hotly contested. Some say that "boondocking" is when you camp without services out in the "boon docks" (aka, middle of nowhere). Some say that "boondocking" is camping without hookups in a campground. Either way, at the end of the day- what you're doing is parking at Walmart overnight.

Some Walmarts allow it, some don't (either the Walmart doesn't because the privilege has been abused or the municipality that Walmart is in doesn't allow it).

There are simple rules of etiquette for parking at Walmart:
  1. Always ask - even if there are other RVs already parked; go inside and ask (or call ahead of time from the road)
  2. Maintain the appearance of parking as much as possible - no awning, no grills, no lawnchairs, etc. Some even advocate that if you can go without slides, do so. (Personally, I think slides over a grassy median are fine).