Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-03-2016, 08:05 AM   #1

Sunseeker Battery Box under step

I know somewhere there should be an answer to my question,,, but I have not found it ??? We have sealed batteries on our Sunseeker 2500TS,,, My question is should the box,,, under the step be vented,,, or can it be 100% air tight ???
Wolverine 1945 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2016, 07:53 AM   #2

I am no expert but I believe sealed batteries don't have to be vented. But isn't your battery box vented from the factory? I am pretty sure mine is.
Old 05-04-2016, 08:23 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by gmacklem View Post
I am no expert but I believe sealed batteries don't have to be vented. But isn't your battery box vented from the factory? I am pretty sure mine is.
No I see no vents,,, it looks as if FR tried to close all openings with spray foam,,, from underneath,,, when I moved one of the batteries the foam stuck to the battery,,, and left a pretty good size opening,,, the other 2 places where cables come & go are almost 100% closed !!! I was planning to use spray form and completely close them all up,,, then I got to wondering about ventilation ???
Thanks for your reply gmacklem !!!
Old 05-04-2016, 09:23 AM   #4

I thought I had a photo but I can't find it.....

Crawl under your rig and look at the back side of the top step. There should be a round hole about an inch or inch and a half in diameter there. It's hard to see when looking in the battery box under the step unless you lean way over and look down behind the batteries with a flashlight.