Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-18-2016, 11:46 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 19
The Android Tablet???

I just bought a 2015 Vibe BHS308 in June. It came with the Android Tablet that has an app on it to allow you to lower the power stabilizers, extend/retract the slides, extent/retract the awning, and even turn on the awning lights. This is all cool.....however, the app that does all this, goes away every time I unplug the docking cable. Its just no longer there. Comes back as soon as I plug the cable back in. If I have to stand inside the camper to use it (its mounted directly above the regular controls for most of these items), what good is it.

When we did our walk thru at the dealer, they told me that it stopped working because their own wifi signal was too strong and over powered the hub in the camper. While I'm not an RF engineer, I am a network engineer and after getting home and thinking about, this does not make a lot of sense to me. If its merely a wifi signal from the hub and the app is hosted on the hub rather than the tablet, it should still be able to connect. Anyone that runs a wifi network in their home will know that most of their neighbors have wifi too and everything generally works fine.

Has anyone else encountered this and if so, how do I fix it?
__________________

__________________
-----------------------------------------
TT - 2015 Forest River Vibe 308BHS
TV - 2005 Nissan Titan 4X4
bfindley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2016, 11:57 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 1,264
Go into your wifi settings and forget all networks except the one that connects to your camper. That should keep it from connecting elsewhere.
__________________

__________________

2016 Coachmen Freedom Express Liberty Edition 310BHDS
2013 Chevy Silverado 2500HD LTZ 6.6L V8 Duramax
Husky weight distribution hitch with sway control
timfromma is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2016, 12:09 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 19
Thanks, I'll give that a shot. Perhaps the dealer set up a network on it....
__________________
-----------------------------------------
TT - 2015 Forest River Vibe 308BHS
TV - 2005 Nissan Titan 4X4
bfindley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2016, 01:24 PM   #4
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 3,594
They may have never connected the tablet to the MyRV wireless network, or may have removed it from the tablet at some point. There's a section in the manual on how to do that. You'll need to get the hub's SSID and Password off the hub itself.
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a 2500 Mega-Cab CTD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2016, 01:57 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 19
Thanks, I'll look at that while I'm in there too. That sounds very likely. I do know that when I picked up the camper they were in the middle of putting in a new tablet. I appreciate all the tips.
__________________
-----------------------------------------
TT - 2015 Forest River Vibe 308BHS
TV - 2005 Nissan Titan 4X4
bfindley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2016, 09:29 AM   #6
Member
 
Bdcclc05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 49
The Android Tablet???

Quote:
Originally Posted by bfindley View Post
I just bought a 2015 Vibe BHS308 in June. It came with the Android Tablet that has an app on it to allow you to lower the power stabilizers, extend/retract the slides, extent/retract the awning, and even turn on the awning lights. This is all cool.....however, the app that does all this, goes away every time I unplug the docking cable. Its just no longer there. Comes back as soon as I plug the cable back in. If I have to stand inside the camper to use it (its mounted directly above the regular controls for most of these items), what good is it.

When we did our walk thru at the dealer, they told me that it stopped working because their own wifi signal was too strong and over powered the hub in the camper. While I'm not an RF engineer, I am a network engineer and after getting home and thinking about, this does not make a lot of sense to me. If its merely a wifi signal from the hub and the app is hosted on the hub rather than the tablet, it should still be able to connect. Anyone that runs a wifi network in their home will know that most of their neighbors have wifi too and everything generally works fine.

Has anyone else encountered this and if so, how do I fix it?

We also own a 308 we had same problem 6 mths back (once we convinced forest River that we had a wireless router ) we got a new wireless router fixed problem. Same tablet new router.Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByForest River Forums1471703301.114091.jpg
Views:	93
Size:	41.2 KB
ID:	117878 it is located behind the trash can by the hot water tank.
__________________
Bdcclc05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2016, 09:50 AM   #7
Site Team
 
Flybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 4,433
Wireless router being too strong sounds like an excuse for I don't know how to connect it. If it has not been registered with the router it will only work when physically connected. Use the connect to network procedure for the tablet.
__________________

2015 Freedom Express 248RBS
TV 2015 Silverado HD2500 Duramax
TST Tire Monitors
Honda 2000I + Companion
2 65W solar panels
Flybob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2016, 03:20 PM   #8
Member
 
Bdcclc05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 49
Flybob may have a point they did say when we bought ours that FR gave them no training on the link pad system. Ours worked when we got our camper then just quit doing the same thing that you described and we had no power from the little box on front of router but had power to that box. It is all one unit so they sent us a new wireless router and password (under warranty).
__________________
Bdcclc05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2016, 03:22 PM   #9
Member
 
Bdcclc05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 49
Forgot the other way to check is with ur smart phone search for wireless network it should pull up your my rv network if router is working.
__________________
Bdcclc05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2016, 08:29 AM   #10
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 3,594
I can't remember if they hide the SSID on those routers, but if they don't, then a smart phone or tablet will certainly find it.
__________________

__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a 2500 Mega-Cab CTD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:32 AM.