Old 09-06-2016, 09:32 AM   #1

Total Newbie

Been searching for an RV for the better per of a year now. I'll spare you the gory details of that search except to say that the Mrs and I have narrowed down the list and one of the top five is the 30WIKSS. It has such a live able floor plan. So, thoughts and questions:

1. Tow tug is a 2015 F250 Supercab 2wd short bed with the 6.7 diesel with factory tow package (trailer and 5th wheel). I know it is quite capable of towing the 30WIKSS, but my concern is away with such a large trailer. I would add the ant-sway hitch, but want input and advice from those of you with a similar tug vehicle.
2. Any extended living campers out there that can shed light on the pros/cons of his RV for long term living (no more than 6 months)?
3. Any seasoned life hacks that keep noobs from being their own worst enemy and/or will enhance the ownership and travel/camping experience?
4. I am a TERRIBLE backerupper! Plan to visit an empty parking lot with cones to get better, but am wide open to suggestions!
5. What would you folks say is the weak link in the V-Lite?
6. On most other RVs, my rule of thumb for a fair price has been 60-75% of MSRP. Most dealers will balk, but relent after a while. Doesn't seem to be the case with V-Lite. Any thoughts on this?

Many thanks for any input you all (ya'll here in GA) can offer!

Joel

Old 09-06-2016, 10:27 AM   #2
Fulltime family RVer

#2. I fulltime in a non-fulltimer rig. Little things wear out quicker- for instance, I had to replace all of the drawer slides in our bunkhouse because the mini-me savages are rough on things. There's always a little quirk to everything, though. It's just part of life.

#3. Keep your sense of humor front and center. Things WILL go wrong. Otherwise, when setting up, breaking down, hitching, unhitching, the whole 9 yards. Go slow. VERY slow. Be cautious and really pay attention.