Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-14-2014, 02:24 PM   #1

Travel trailer toilet question

I have heard different opinions on when and how to dump the holding tank while travelling. If you are travelling every day should you dump every day when you stop? Or should you wait until the black tank is full? Also when you do empty the black tank should you put water in with the chemicals to start with?? I am pretty new to having a TT so I would appreciate any helpful hints!
Ham Camper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2014, 03:21 PM   #2
Site Team

Not sure where you're getting "different" opinions, but after 10 years on various RV foums, nearly 100% say to only dump the black tank when full.
you may have to add water, if you won't have the opportunity to dump for awhile.
And a 100% will say to always add water after dumping. The only different opinions will be on what tank additives to use.
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 SCREW XTR 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
4pt Equal-i-zer WDH and 1828lbs of payload capacity
bikendan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2014, 03:23 PM   #3

You are going to get a huge variety of opinions on this question and there isn't a right or wrong answer to the question.

If we were traveling day to day it would be to much hassle to dump everyday in my opinion. Think about having to hookup everyday yuk. Plus I rinse the black tank for a little while when I dump.

I just dump when needed when we are on the road or when we have been in one place for a few days. It's more about easy and convenient for me.
DKRITTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2014, 03:28 PM   #4