Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Closed Thread

Old 04-19-2019, 09:40 AM   #1

Traveling with firearms questions

A touchy subject, I know, however. I'm sure people do travel with guns. Im wondering if anyone has had any problems with that. Im currently a police officer and under federal statute HR 218 I can carry in all 50 states except where federally prohibited like federal buildings etc. I'm traveling from NJ to Mt. Rushmore then through Utah and then I-40 back across to 95 then north again. I'm not worried about traveling with but more so when i stop and see National Parks and other things. Just wondering what peoples views are on traveling with and carrying a pistol. I'm traveling with my wife and 3 kids all age 10 and less. Basically I'm wondering if I really need it or if will become something extra I just have to worry about instead of enjoying the trip with my family.
KEliasz is offline   Reply
Old 04-19-2019, 09:43 AM   #2

Need it while as a retired LEO myself you never know when you will need it or not. But always better to have it and not need it then need it and not have it. I for one always carry as long as I’m legal.
Gonefishing1 is offline   Reply
Old 04-19-2019, 09:46 AM   #3

I myself, carry a lot more than I use to. If not with me, it was in close proximity inside the trailer. Down at our cabin in MO. I carry all the time...especially when were down in the woods. Lots of critters out there that are sometimes a little temperamental when you invade their domain. State Parks can be the same.
TheWolfPaq82 is offline   Reply
Old 04-19-2019, 09:48 AM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gonefishing1 View Post
Need it while as a retired LEO myself you never know when you will need it or not. But always better to have it and not need it then need it and not have it. I for one always carry as long as I’m legal.
Excellent point.
TheWolfPaq82 is offline   Reply