Old 09-30-2016, 09:04 AM   #1
Send a message via Skype™ to Discipline39
Trip planning

Hi everyone. I tried to search this but found very little useful info. Half the fun of a long trip... is planning it. Having said that, having assistance is very helpful. I am very familiar with AAA but was wondering if other companies do as good a job at preparing "Trip Tics". I am planning a trip from Maine to Myrtle Beach (early Nov.) and want to have a most enjoyable trip down as well as my stay. I have heard horror stories of traveling I95 (particularly from Philly thru DC). So, my 2 part question: Is AAA, Good Sam, AARP, Coach-Net, all about the same? (Do they all even offer trip planning?). And part 2: any advise for the travel down & back would be greatly appreciated. My TV is an F150 hauling a Wildwood X-Lite 262. Just my DW & I.
I am relatively new at this so I welcome any and all suggestions.

Chris & Deb
2013 F150 3.5 ECO
Wildwood X-Lite 262BH
Discipline39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2016, 09:21 AM   #2
Commercial Member
I use a combination of Garmin GPS and their free map/trip planner program "Base Camp".
I can quickly identify places I want to visit, stop for fuel or meal. confirm miles and approx travel time for each day etc. When done with my planning I can transfer all the stops to the GPS and that will guide me from spot to spot.

I write a blog on RV tire application and safety.
Also give seminars on tires at RV events across the US. 40 years experience as tire design & quality engineer for major tire mfg. Freelander 23QB on Chevy chassis is my RV
Tireman9 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2016, 10:10 AM   #3
Rte 84 to 81 is a good route that will take you around NYC and DC and have some pretty views. It also has the added benefit of missing all the tolls in NY and NJ. I used this route to FL this past Spring.

2016 Coachmen Freedom Express Liberty Edition 310BHDS
2015 Toyota Tundra 5.7L V8 with towing package