Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-08-2013, 01:35 PM   #1

Want to use it in winter!

I'm a completely green TT noob.

I'm supposed to be getting a Wildwood 28-DBUD (29'10"), as in; contract tomorrow.

In my fantasy trailer life, I planned to travel all winter, but mostly in the lower half of the country.

I'm shaking in my boots about this "winterizing" thing. Is there a different trailer I should get? I shopped some of the arctic-y types, and they are expensive and not really available here in Texas. Even if I stay in climates similar to North Texas, it gets freekin COLD here. A bad day in Dallas is either 20* or 110*.

Is winter travel is not logical in a trailer with so little insulation?
woozy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 02:37 PM   #2
Mod free 5er

Quote:
Originally Posted by woozy View Post
I'm a completely green TT noob.

I'm supposed to be getting a Wildwood 28-DBUD (29'10"), as in; contract tomorrow.

In my fantasy trailer life, I planned to travel all winter, but mostly in the lower half of the country.

I'm shaking in my boots about this "winterizing" thing. Is there a different trailer I should get? I shopped some of the arctic-y types, and they are expensive and not really available here in Texas. Even if I stay in climates similar to North Texas, it gets freekin COLD here. A bad day in Dallas is either 20* or 110*.

Is winter travel is not logical in a trailer with so little insulation?
If you stay in the southern part of the southern states, you shouldn't have any problems. We live in the Charlotte, NC area and don't winterize as we go to FL when the temps here get down to the 40's (which is usually around Thanksgiving) and don't come back until mid Mar.
Old 10-08-2013, 02:47 PM   #3

I don't want to go to Florida (just got back from "Lower Alabama"). I want to go to NC

Black Mountain is calling my name. Is THAT too cold?