Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-15-2013, 01:22 PM   #1

What do I need to know about cold weather dry camping?

I am in my first year of trailer ownership and so far have only camped in warmer weather. I have had my camper winterized but will be taking it out again next week. It will be in the 20s and 30s for a low so I will be dry camping and using the campground bathhouse. I will have electric hookup and run the gas furnace. Is there anything special I should know about this kind of camping?

Thanks.
Old 11-15-2013, 01:38 PM   #2

If you learn how to winterize yourself, (there are many threads on here detailing the process) you can usually re-winterize with a couple of gallons of anti-freeze for around 10 bucks. if you have tank heaters, this would allow you the use of water. I've already winterized mine once and will be using it again the end of November, water and all!

You may also think about investing in an electric space heater to save on propane use since you'll have electric.
Indy Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 04:30 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Indy Steve View Post
If you learn how to winterize yourself, (there are many threads on here detailing the process) you can usually re-winterize with a couple of gallons of anti-freeze for around 10 bucks. if you have tank heaters, this would allow you the use of water. I've already winterized mine once and will be using it again the end of November, water and all! You may also think about investing in an electric space heater to save on propane use since you'll have electric.
Hmmm. Free electric. Break out the heaters.
born in Texas.... live in Arkansas
Iwannacamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 06:57 PM   #4