Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-04-2013, 05:28 PM   #1
Always Learning

Winterization instructions - can you verify?

My sister and her friends emailed me the other day - it seems my sister claimed that I knew how they could save them money and give them instructions on how to winterize their campers. I do a lot of reading and even 1/2-winterized mine last year. But I'm FAR from an expert (I haven't even stayed in a Holiday Inn recently).

Their campers are both 5-6 year old used units and they're both fairly newbies, but have husbands who are fairly handy. Here's what I sent- does anyone have any critiques/comments?

---

This sounds like a lot, but basically Mandie and I are able to winterize our big camper in 30-45 minutes.

To winterize your camper, you'll need a couple of things:

1) A "RV Blowout Plug" - this screws into your city water connection and lets you push air into the RV lines.

2) A small air compressor - preferably one that you can control the air pressure. You generally don't want more than 30 or 40psi blowing into the system. I spent $100 on one at Home Depot. But you can get a smaller one from Harbor Freight or Sears or something. I wanted a bigger one so that I could also use it for airing up my truck and camper tires. (You are checking tire pressure before each trip and make sure both are inflated to the max- aren't you?)

3) A couple of gallons of RV Antifreeze - the pink stuff; not what you put in your car!!! The pink stuff is safe for drinking water lines; the stuff that you put in your car will kill you, seriously. Preferably something that is propylene glycol based (vs. alcohol based) like this from Home Depot.

4) A socket wrench, a 1 1/16" socket and a 3" socket extension - for getting the water heater drain off