Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-24-2013, 01:14 PM   #1

winterizing

I have winterized my tt. I drained the fresh water tank. Question, do you put any antifreeze in the freshwater tank. I have been reading posts but seems like everyone just drains it. I work in the marine industry and when winterizing a boats fresh system, i put a couple gallons in the fresh tank, turn on pump and pump through system. The tank still has a bit left in it when done. I know you can't do that due to the size of a tt tank but didn't know if it was good to throw a gallon in. I don't see any issue if it is drained.

2013 Coachman 292BHDS
2005 F150 Lariat SuperCrew 4x4
1 spoiled lab and 1 even more spoiled boxer
pkurek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 01:23 PM   #2
Always Learning

I don't as I don't really see the point. Even if there is residual water- there is plenty of room for it to have a place to go when it freezes and expands.
Old 10-24-2013, 10:10 PM   #3

I might be mistaken, but, when you clear the water from the lines with compressed air there will still be water inside the water pump. I think it is a good idea to pull just enough antifreeze in to displace the water that is in the water pump.
2015 RAM 2500 4X4, 6.4l hemi, 6sp auto, 3:73 diffs
Equalizer 10,000lb hitch with 1K bars
Swaggler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 11:08 PM   #4
Site Team - Lou

Quote:
Originally Posted by Swaggler View Post
I might be mistaken, but, when you clear the water from the lines with compressed air there will still be water inside the water pump. I think it is a good idea to pull just enough antifreeze in to displace the water that is in the water pump.
If you install a winterizing kit and use the water pump for winterizing it keeps the foul tasting pink out of the fresh tank; yet protects the pump.
Attached Images

Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote