Old 09-17-2015, 10:48 AM   #1

Winterizing, One question

Hello All

This is my first time winterizing and I have one question, it's about step 6 below from the manual. I'm not sure what tank they are referring to. Is it my fresh water tank or the tank holding my antifreeze or another tank?
I have a 2015 329BHT Lacrosse.
Thank you

Winterizing With Antifreeze Only
1. Purchase 4-6 gallons of RV approved, non-toxic antifreeze.
2. Drain all tanks (fresh water and sewage tanks).
3. Turn water heater bypass valve to bypass position.
4. Drain water heater.
5. If you have a water filter system installed, remove the filter from the assembly and discard. (You will need to purchase a new one and install it when de-winterizing your unit.)
6. Fill the tank above minimum water pump operation level with the RV antifreeze. (Use of a long funnel may be helpful.)
7. Turn the pump switch 'ON' and open the cold water side of all faucet fixtures. Leave the faucets open until the antifreeze (generally pink in color) flows out of the faucets. Repeat for the hot water side.
8. Flush toilet until antifreeze is visible inside the bowl and pour one gallon of antifreeze down the toilet to winterize the black holding tank.
9. Pour antifreeze down each shower/tub, lavatory sink and kitchen sink to fill p-traps.
10. To winterize gray tank(s), pour one gallon down each related sink drain.
Dewinterizing Your RV

Old 09-17-2015, 10:56 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Yes, it looks like that wants you to pour antifreeze in your fresh water tank and then use that to pump throughout the camper.

A much better alternative (IMHO) is to install a fresh water tank bypass system....I'll see if I can get a picture to post. If you do a search in here, I'm sure there's lots of instructions already.

(Its a bypass kit that you attach right next to you water pump. When winterizing, you switch it and then run a hose into the antifreeze and then run the pump which gets it through all of the lines.)