Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-09-2011, 10:23 PM   #1

Wiring in Satellite

We just purchased a 2004 Wildcat 28bh 5th wheel. Can anyone explain to me how the TV wiring is in this trailer? I want to run a satellite dish but I don't understand how the rooftop antenna ties into everything. Ex. where does the antenna wire go in the camper? If I hook up to the TV in jack, is the antenna out of the loop? Is there a switch someplace? I was thinking I could just hook up to the outside TV in jack but it's looking more like I need to run a new coax out to the dish. I'm an electrician so I understand how it should work but I'm guessing there is some stuff hidden in the walls somewhere. Sorry for all the questions, this is alot different than when I put this stuff in my folks' motorhome. Thanks in advance for any advice!!
fast murray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 07:20 AM   #2

do you have a sat connection inside the trailer?
the sat on my 2002 cardinal is next to but a separate system.
to get the sat receiver to both tv's, i use radio frequency link over the air.
the tv ant and external cable connection are controlled by a switch on the inside tv panel. when u turn on the amplifier, the antenna is switched in and the outside cable is switched off. when the tv amp is off, external cable is fed thru.
the switch i am referring to is the very small switch that turns the ant amplifier on. on mine there is a tv outlet and a cigarette lighter socket mounted on this plate. feel around on the plate and u will feel a very small push switch. when u push it a (green) light will come on. when this light is on, the ant is active.
jimh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 05:19 PM   #3