Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-04-2016, 06:51 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 56
27 HFS Furnace & Switches ?'s

So in the recent events of my TH getting broken into, i learned that i was not totally sure how the heater kicks on fully. After the PD left i decided to fire up the Genny to let it run for a lil while and since it was relatively cold for the first time in Florida this year i decided to try the heat for the first time. I went to the thermostat and changed it to heat and HI. I heard what sounded like the furnace kick on but no flow out of the top vents like the a/c. the only place i felt it was coming out from the one vent under the sink, and not warm by any means. So i remembered that the propane tanks were off and went out to open them up. once i did that its like the furnace stopped working? the sound of it stopped completely and so did the flow of air outta the vent...What did i do wrong, or does the heater in these things just suck that bad and thats why everyone is adding an electric heater?

Does anyone have the switches labeled on the 27HFS by chance? I havent remembered what switch does what yet and i would like to get a label maker and place what switch is what to reduce the guess work
__________________

__________________
MotoCrazy808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2016, 07:03 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Western, MA
Posts: 430
The furnace doesn't blow out the ceiling vents. Only the floor vents. Leave the thermostat on auto. No need to switch it to high. Lastly, the furnace sensed a no heat situation and shut down. It just needed to be shut off and restarted. Also, if you open your propane tanks too quickly, you will trip their safeties and they will shut off. You need to close them completely and firmly. You will hear a click. Then open each slowly.
__________________

__________________
Karl4Cat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2016, 08:16 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 56
So the auto featunnre actually works then? and open slowly, copy that! thanks!

now on to those pesky switches, that are not lights.
__________________
MotoCrazy808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2016, 11:44 PM   #4
John513
 
JohnRiordan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 130
Open propane tank and turn thermostat off then back on. Put fan in auto so just the heater works. If you put on hi or low the heater will still work, but the the AC blower will also run. I have a 2015 and not sure if they changed locations or functions of switches. The switches you flip and nothing happens would be the 3rd switch in kitchen next to fridge gives fuel station pump power and the second switch in bathroom works heat pads on holding tanks. Other then that flip the rest and you should see lights or fan. Exterior floods are turned on by switches in garage.
__________________
JohnRiordan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
furnace

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:04 AM.