Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-09-2015, 08:55 PM   #1
Member
 
STLfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 37
Can I run HDMI cables?

Hello everyone I'm just trying to get opinions or recommendations on how I can run HDMI cable's.
I have a 29HFS and they come wired with coax. Does anyone have experience pulling HDMI cable's or is it even possible?
The reason I want to do this is I have a tailgater satellite dish and single receiver. I want to run split the signal through all TVs. I understand The same channel will display on all TVs but that's okay. Just looking for opinions.
__________________

__________________
STLfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2015, 09:09 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
vinmaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: MA
Posts: 1,793
Yep. Just figure out the length you need and order that size. HDMI comes in 25', 50', etc. length.
__________________

__________________

2015 HW296
2006 HW256 (previous pup)
2013 Chevy Tahoe
Equalizer WDH 1000#
vinmaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2015, 09:15 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 6,721
If you're wanting to replace the coax with HDMI, you can probably tape one end of the HDMI to one end of the coax and pull the coax from the other end and pull the HDMI in where the coax was. That assumes, of course, that they didn't staple the coax to anything inside where you can't get at it.
__________________
1988 Coleman Sequoia - popup (1987-2009) - outlasted 3 Dodge Grand Caravans!
2012 Roo19 - hybrid (2012-2015)

2016 Mini Lite 2503S - tt (2015 - ???)
2011 Traverse LT, 3.6L, FWD
2009 Silverado 1500 Ext Cab, 5.3L, 4x4, 3.73
2016 Silverado 2500HD Dbl Cab, 6.0L 4x4, 4.10
rockfordroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2015, 09:25 PM   #4
Member
 
STLfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 37
That's exactly my concern. I'm afraid they stapled the cables or used ties in the walls or ceiling. My greatest fear is I get one pulled halfway and it gets stuck.
My goal is to run HDMI and coax at the same time using the existing coax to pull them so that I can have dual outlets and switch between inputs such as satellite dish or antenna.
Hopefully bulletBob sees this post and comments.
__________________
STLfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2015, 09:44 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
vinmaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: MA
Posts: 1,793
Unfortunately I do not think anyone is going to be able to tell you that some installer along the production line decided to put a staple over the coax to hold it out of the way of something.

Keep in mind that the plug end of an HDMI cable is larger than Coax. You most likely would not be able to simply pull the wire as previously discussed. You would need to pre-drill appropriate sized holes and then run the wire.
__________________

2015 HW296
2006 HW256 (previous pup)
2013 Chevy Tahoe
Equalizer WDH 1000#
vinmaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2015, 10:02 PM   #6
Member
 
STLfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 37
That's the reason I said I hope bullet Bob read and replied. He is the plant manager and knows how these are put together from top to bottom. Also if you remove the plates most of the holes are very large.
__________________
STLfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2015, 10:11 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Play Harder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 506
Can I run HDMI cables?

If you can get an HDMI cable to pull to the garage from living room - you better go buy a lottery ticket 😃😃😃. I used to do a lot of wall fishing data wire ect ---

you can get a flex bit at Home Depot and if your good drill down wall in garage to underside run cable under then up to entertainment center - of course you will have to remove belly cover. - this method is a little difficult do to the location of current Jack.

A much easier method would be put a access plate/ hole (4x4 blank plate w wall insert) - under sink cabinet bathroom wall - that way it's hidden under sink cabinet, put access hole close to floor, drill down inside hole, inside wall down through floor -- run cable back to entertainment center for one end and drop a sting with a weight on it from garage outlet down wall to new access point to pull other end of HDMI cable up to new location. Living room could done the Same way cutting a access hole under bed in storage area....

Or even an easier way is to get direct TV with a wireless HDMI receiver


Get out and Play Harder😛

2016 XLR Hyper Lite 29hsf - loaded picked up 3-24-2015😊
2008 Can Am Spyder
Kite Boarding is my Addiction - GOT WIND!
__________________
Play Harder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2015, 10:27 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
fast murray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: SD
Posts: 439
If HDMI cabling won't fit where you want it to go you can get HDMI over cat5 convertors and pull the cat 5 instead. They're about $50 for a pair but nice when you need them. There is also a wall plate that will get it done with 2 cat5's.
__________________
2004 Wildcat 28BH
2012 Ram 2500 CCSB 6.7CTD
fast murray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2015, 10:28 PM   #9
Go Pack Go!!
 
codespy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Packerland
Posts: 93
I agree with Play....

Drilling down and running them on the underside of the RV is usually the only way to make it work. I measured out the lengths of HDMI cable I will need for the new RV we have on order two weeks ago, ordered lengths from Monoprice.com, and I already received them. They have the most variety at the best prices.

Not scheduled to get our RV until around Memorial Day, but also just picked up two Vizio E-series TV's (on closeout) for the inside of the new RV and a sound bar from Sam's Club after getting everything measured out. We have a third flat screen for the deck outside the entryway, and have a two room DirecTV HD-DVR setup. HDMI is the only way to go. This is what camping is all about.

Another note, the coax cables they run usually come off of a roll without the connectors on, so the holes as described earlier are likely too small for a HDMI to go through. They typically crimp the coax connectors on after the cable is run.
__________________
codespy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2015, 10:29 PM   #10
Member
 
STLfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 37
LOL Play Harder I haven't laughed like that at a post in a long time. That was awesome

Point taken on the difficulty pulling wire. And I may look into your suggestions. I'll be sure to share with you what I do.
Thanks for the input
__________________

__________________
STLfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:38 AM.