Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2013, 09:53 AM   #11
Moderator Emeritus
 
RVChick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: In the Country
Posts: 6,340
We also had the thermostat to OFF on each attempt.
__________________

__________________
Kenny n Karen
TV: 2007 Chevy Silverado 3500 DRW - named Alice
RV: 2012 XLR Thunderbolt 35x12 - named Thor
RVChick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 11:07 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 7,609
Quote:
Originally Posted by RVChick View Post
Our furnace did not kick in last night nor this morning. After looking at the brochures, it describes our problem. The blower comes on but it does not ignite. We turned turned the thermostats off, waited a moment and turned it back on. The blower kicks in, but it does not ignite, then turns off in 5 minutes. Paperwork called this being Locked Out. Has this happened to anyone, or can you tell us how to fix it. We have space heaters thank goodness, but I could use some advise! The gas works fine on the stove.
Thank you FRF friends!!
I think it could be 2 things, 1) Check your limit switch you will need a meter for that. 2) you could have a bad sail switch, you can either check it with a meter or just jump it out. if not you might have a failed sensor board. IF YOU ARE NOT COMFORTABLE doing these steps take it to your dealer which you will have to do anyway if your still in warranty....

__________________

__________________
Rockwood #8289 WS 2012
F250 6.0 / Husky 16k
With 4 point leveling system
Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 12:00 PM   #13
Owner/Operator
 
RodeoGeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Chino Valley, AZ
Posts: 671
If you are not under warranty:

The circuit boards are normally pretty easy to get to.

MOST reputable RV Parts Suppliers have a tester that does very well at identifying a defective circuit board. If the circuit board is bad, I would recommend replacing it with a "Dinosaur" brand. They normally cost less than the OEM boards, AND they have an extremely low failure rate.

Dinosaur boards are available for most furnaces, refrigerators, and water heaters.

RodeoGeorge
__________________
RodeoGeorge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 01:52 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 73
Since you are nowhere near a service center, try calling one you have used before or the manufacturer's service center. They may talk you through something simple. Worth a try. I understand having something like that happen miles from anywhere (like the coast in Northern California when a spring broke on our Jayco (last unit), or a water pump going out somewhere in the Yukon on the way to Alaska. :-)
__________________
ritzyteach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 02:43 PM   #15
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,155
Quote:
Originally Posted by gljurczyk View Post
I think it could be 2 things, 1) Check your limit switch you will need a meter for that. 2) you could have a bad sail switch, you can either check it with a meter or just jump it out. if not you might have a failed sensor board. IF YOU ARE NOT COMFORTABLE doing these steps take it to your dealer which you will have to do anyway if your still in warranty....
I agree; the furnace is nothing to mess with. If you are not comfortable doing things like checking the flue for obstructions and troubleshooting at the board level, take to a professional.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf suburbantech.pdf (804.8 KB, 18 views)
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 03:12 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
mike06081969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 247
If you have a battery disconnect, make sure it is 'on'.
__________________
Mike in Tennessee
Former 2 time FR owner
2007 Crossroads Cruiser 30QB Fifth Wheel
2008 F-250 Lariat 4x4 6.4 Powerstroke
Firestone Ride-Rites w/cab control
mike06081969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 03:37 PM   #17
Moderator Emeritus
 
RVChick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: In the Country
Posts: 6,340
I totally agree about taking it to a Pro in this case! Our dealer is in Ohio Nd we are in Missouri. They provided us with a couple dealers to check with. One dealer that I constantly go to for parts or supplies, is Bill Thomas. They sell FR rigs, just not the XLR FR toyhauler (which is why we purchased elsewhere) so they don't want to work on it.
I am sure we will find a dealer close.

Thank you everyone for the responses. Now I have more knowledge!
__________________
Kenny n Karen
TV: 2007 Chevy Silverado 3500 DRW - named Alice
RV: 2012 XLR Thunderbolt 35x12 - named Thor
RVChick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 10:21 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 32
RVchick I just went through a similar experience that you are now in Missouri over New Years. I have a 2013 395AMP and the 3rd time out the furnace went kaput! The furnace once turned on the fan would run for about 5 min and then just shut off. Turns out there is a limit switch on the back side (the only part in the back). It is basically a relay that cuts off the heater as an "overheat protection", then relaxes when cooling occurs. This is for a Suburban furnace. The dealer that did if for me was great, maybe you are nearby.

Bruce Griffon's Trailer Town

Mark
__________________
Leroy2u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 10:35 PM   #19
Moderator Emeritus
 
RVChick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: In the Country
Posts: 6,340
Thank you Leryo2u! Yes ours is the Suburban too! Thank you for the information. That will help when I call tomorrow.
__________________
Kenny n Karen
TV: 2007 Chevy Silverado 3500 DRW - named Alice
RV: 2012 XLR Thunderbolt 35x12 - named Thor
RVChick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 12:22 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
flyrotor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 755
One more thing to check prior to taking to the service center, are you on shore power or battery? The sail switch blows open with the wind from the heater fan, a low battery will prevent the sail switch from opening enough, therefore the flame will not light.

Just a suggestion.
__________________

__________________
flyrotor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24 PM.