Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-21-2015, 01:16 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 9
How do i pickup TV stations with antenna?

Silly question, I have been out of the TV antenna game for too long. Do i need any digital boxes or anything special to get TV stations with my 2016 29HFS? I hooked up tvs and scanned for stations but got nothing. I am in chicago so there has to be something to pickup....

edumacate me please
__________________

__________________
Red900 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2015, 01:22 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mohawk Valley of NY
Posts: 217
1) How old are the TVs, are they digital or analog? If they're new, they're digital.
2) Did you connect an antenna?

Chicago should be good for 30 channels plus!
__________________

__________________
KQ2N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2015, 01:25 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Jim Schings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 303
Yep, you should be able to pick up TV stations without any additional boxes. (assuming these are TV's newer than 10 years) Make sure when you set up the scan, that you have told it to scan for ANTENNA OR CABLE whatever your particular case is. Make sure your amp is on. (normally a small wall box with a switch, lamp, and often a cigar lighter output. The switch is a small pushbutton and the red LED will indicate its position. Of course, make sure all cables are connected to the right places on the TV
__________________
Jim Schings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2015, 04:15 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 163
I use an APP on my phone called TV Towers. It takes your location and gives shows you the different towers. You point the phone like you would a compass (a small line will point towards the towers) and then point the antenna in that direction. It works amazing from what I've seen so far.
__________________
klarowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2015, 07:55 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3,155
Make sure amp is on. (Green light on)That TV coax is connected to TV port at the ceiling / wallf outlet. In the TV setup for input... select TV... The setup channel and let it auto scan for available channels. If it asks to erase the old channels say yes. It takes awhile but you should see many channels.
__________________
WolfWhistle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2015, 08:08 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
wbdavey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Oswego, NY
Posts: 287
Red - simple stuff first: Crank the antenna up; make sure the antenna amplifier is turned on (little button next to the cable connection near the TV); use the TV remote to select the TV input to "antenna" or "over air", then select auto scan to find available channels; you can fine tune the direction to point the antenna using the smart phone apps "TV Antenna helper" or "DTV antennas"
__________________
2015 Rockwood Ultra Lite 2604 WS. Rear LR, large street side slide with small wardrobe slide in BR.
2014 Ram 1500 Eco Diesel Laramie Quad Cab.
wbdavey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2015, 08:35 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Wolverine 1945's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: SouthWest Michigan
Posts: 3,681
You may need to try the scan with the antenna in different spots ???
Seams like in Chicago you would get stations in all positions ???
I found last week in Northern Michigan on one station I got a stronger signal when I lowered the antenna a little !!!
__________________
Wolverine 1945 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2015, 08:52 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
breezyhillfarm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 546
I assume you've set the TV for "antenna" and done a station search with the antenna up and booster on?
__________________
breezyhillfarm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2015, 09:00 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
mcnabbwr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Lower Michigan
Posts: 1,366
Another note, if your unit is equipped with a Jack brand antenna there is also a switch on the side of it that needs turned on along with the amp.
__________________
Bill & Pam
2014 Trilogy 3650RE
2015 F350 PSD
mcnabbwr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2015, 01:52 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
panthercity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 212
TV Antenna Helper FREE APK for iPhone | Download Android APK GAMES & APPS for iPhone, iPhone 4, iPhone 3, iPhone 5, iPhone 6 For iPhones

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...per.free&hl=en For iPhonies (Android)
__________________

__________________
Certified JB Welder. Certified 3M Duct Tape installer.
Certified Farmer's Co-Op bailing wire expert. Graduate of the "Rock on the side of the Trail as a Hammer" school of motorcycle repair.
Getting old is just a matter of narrowly missing all the things that kill you.
panthercity is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
antenna

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:20 AM.