Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-29-2012, 11:37 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Alberta Canada
Posts: 7
Inoperative Fuel gage

2012 XLR24HFS
fuel gage stays below empty mark. checked fuses wiring etc. Light comes on in gage when fuel pump is running ? Dealer way to busy to lookl at it. Hasn't worked from day 1. Any ideas ?
I have poured 15 galllons gas in tank.
__________________

__________________
paleale57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 12:33 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4
Same Fuel Gauge Problem in brand new 2013 XLR

I have the same problem as paleale57 in a brand new 2013 XLR Hyperlite. Fuel Gauge has not worked from day 1. I too checked all the wires and connections that I can get to. I added about 15 gallons as well. Nothing registers on the fuel gauge.

Anyone have any suggestions for us?
__________________

__________________
BradyB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 12:50 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Alberta Canada
Posts: 7
I just talked to a dealer after phoning about 5 and the service guy said some were wired wrong or possibly a bad ground,so I'm going to do some more checking and will advise
__________________
paleale57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 03:08 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4
I'll do the same...

Thanks Paleale,
Please keep me posted. And I will do the same.
I should have some time to work on this tonight or tomorrow morning. I already checked all the connections and wire-nuts. There is also an inline fuse holder with a 5amp ATC fuse in it, the fuse looks good.
And I can't get to the two wires that go over the tank to the sensor without dropping the tank.
The only thing I can think to do is start switching some of those connections to the back of fuel gauge and see if anything was plugged in incorrectly...

Thanks,
Brady
__________________
BradyB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 03:40 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Alberta Canada
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by BradyB
Thanks Paleale,
Please keep me posted. And I will do the same.
I should have some time to work on this tonight or tomorrow morning. I already checked all the connections and wire-nuts. There is also an inline fuse holder with a 5amp ATC fuse in it, the fuse looks good.
And I can't get to the two wires that go over the tank to the sensor without dropping the tank.
The only thing I can think to do is start switching some of those connections to the back of fuel gauge and see if anything was plugged in incorrectly...

Thanks,
Brady
I finally talked to my dealer and was saying there is more than 1 fuse behind the gage but I haven't had time to look yet
__________________
paleale57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 04:14 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Alberta Canada
Posts: 7
Dealer also said there should be a black and a pink wire coming from sending unit black is the ground I guess
__________________
paleale57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 10:24 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Alberta Canada
Posts: 7
After some more resistance/voltage checks I am starting to think it's the gage itself. A wiring diagram would clarify it.
__________________
paleale57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 10:25 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Alberta Canada
Posts: 7
The service dude os pn drugs ther is pnly pne fuse
__________________
paleale57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 10:26 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Alberta Canada
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by paleale57
The service dude os pn drugs ther is pnly pne fuse
Only 1 fuse i meant
__________________
paleale57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 09:34 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4
Okay. Yep, I only see one 5-amp fuse. I haven't put the meter on it yet but I tried switching a few of the connections, nothing yet.

Haven't had a lot of time to mess with it, we lost power in a big storm and have been without power for the last three days. When I get back to it, I'll try testing the gauge itself.
__________________

__________________
BradyB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:29 PM.