Old 09-06-2016, 05:51 PM   #1
Experience by Repair

Recliner trouble in XLR

Had a recliner that was sticky going in n out Would catch underneath and you would have to gently work it a bit to get out and back in. Had at repair shop n they told me that they are just made that way and we might get a replacement that is as bad or worse (didn't give a rats ***** I think). Had it at the dealership I bought it 2x and have it on an open ticket yet, I hope, as they never did solve it. Just another excuse on manufacturing and how we needed to "just work it in, it will loosen up over time". Well....OK, so much for help on the warranty that covers it! Brand new and works like crap. TODAY was the DAY! No more! Took it upon myself, and I am no mechanic, but have had to troubleshoot a lot of different things in life (thanks dad for pushing me to figure it out) and flipped it over in the campgrounds to take. Look....yep! Got it figured out in 20 seconds of looking n moving parts. Little tweak in one of the extension arms on foot rest, pulling some slack out of a rod holder that holds a pivot rod all way across. FIX...need a washer to hold against on back side of shaft so tweak can't pull off to side and hang up the gear on edge. Camping with little to nothing I used the top of a water bottle and some electrical tape to hold it in place...see pictures. Now she works great and.....hope some of these posts help other owners and the lazy repair guy (not all are, but I run into too many) won't let me put more than one image on so I will post all separate
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	410.7 KB
ID:	119579  

Old 09-06-2016, 05:58 PM   #2
Experience by Repair

home made washer

Cut center out with pocket knife, then narrowed up edge so I could wrap tape
Attached Thumbnails

Views:	63
Size:	450.4 KB
ID:	119582  

Old 09-06-2016, 06:01 PM   #3
Experience by Repair

Took out slack