Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-26-2012, 09:29 AM   #1
Moderator Emeritus
 
RVChick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: In the Country
Posts: 6,342
The fan wont stop running when the furnace is on

The other evening I reached over to the thermostat to turn it down two degrees, however I accidentally was clicking the on/off button twice, so it went from furnace to off to fan. A little later I wondered why it was still running, and when I looked, it was set to fan and not furnace. No big deal I though, so I clicked it to the furnace setting. Now the fan runs non stop! The furnace still kicks in as needed, however the fan won't stop running (it's the fan that runs in the air conditioner unit on the ceiling).

Does anyone know how to fix this? It will not turn off unless I turn the entire thermostats to off. I tried turning it of for awhile then back on, but when I set it to furnace, the fan on the air conditioner kicks in too.
__________________

__________________
Kenny n Karen
TV: 2007 Chevy Silverado 3500 DRW - named Alice
RV: 2012 XLR Thunderbolt 35x12 - named Thor
RVChick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 09:39 AM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by RVChick View Post
The other evening I reached over to the thermostat to turn it down two degrees, however I accidentally was clicking the on/off button twice, so it went from furnace to off to fan. A little later I wondered why it was still running, and when I looked, it was set to fan and not furnace. No big deal I though, so I clicked it to the furnace setting. Now the fan runs non stop! The furnace still kicks in as needed, however the fan won't stop running (it's the fan that runs in the air conditioner unit on the ceiling).

Does anyone know how to fix this? It will not turn off unless I turn the entire thermostats to off. I tried turning it of for awhile then back on, but when I set it to furnace, the fan on the air conditioner kicks in too.
Is fan switch on auto or on?
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 09:41 AM   #3
DDC
Senior Member
 
DDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Komoka Ontario
Posts: 2,363
I did that last year I can't remember exactly how I got it back to the original setting but it was done by playing around with the thermostat, seem to remember going from manual setting to automatic for the fan, good luck I know it can be done.
__________________
"Well that didn't go as expected"
2015 Chev 2500HD Highcountry Duramax
Cedar Creek Silverback 33IK
Donald&Casey cairn terrier
Rest in Peace Mary my darling wife.
Scottish by birth Canadian by time.
DDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 10:10 AM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
RVChick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: In the Country
Posts: 6,342
Here is a photo of the thermostat. I don't see an auto...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1892545479.jpg
Views:	116
Size:	42.2 KB
ID:	22532  
__________________
Kenny n Karen
TV: 2007 Chevy Silverado 3500 DRW - named Alice
RV: 2012 XLR Thunderbolt 35x12 - named Thor
RVChick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 10:12 AM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
RVChick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: In the Country
Posts: 6,342
Clicking the on/off button is what toggles it through to fan, cool, and furnace.
__________________
Kenny n Karen
TV: 2007 Chevy Silverado 3500 DRW - named Alice
RV: 2012 XLR Thunderbolt 35x12 - named Thor
RVChick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 10:32 AM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
RVChick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: In the Country
Posts: 6,342
Oh I found out what you meant! On fan, it was set to low! I changed it to Auto, and now it does not come on when the furnace setting is selected!!

Thank you both for the speedy help!!
__________________
Kenny n Karen
TV: 2007 Chevy Silverado 3500 DRW - named Alice
RV: 2012 XLR Thunderbolt 35x12 - named Thor
RVChick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 10:46 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
dfskinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Va Beach, Va
Posts: 146
Never seen a theromstat like that..... we have that simple one that comes with the trialer....

any advantages to changing the theromstat?
__________________
dfskinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 10:49 AM   #8
Moderator Emeritus
 
RVChick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: In the Country
Posts: 6,342
That one came with the toyhauler!
__________________
Kenny n Karen
TV: 2007 Chevy Silverado 3500 DRW - named Alice
RV: 2012 XLR Thunderbolt 35x12 - named Thor
RVChick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 11:55 AM   #9
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
saweet!

Turbs
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 03:03 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Fulltimers
Posts: 234
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfskinner View Post
Never seen a theromstat like that..... we have that simple one that comes with the trialer....

any advantages to changing the theromstat?

At least for now, there's no replacement thermostat for the new 3-wire versions as shown above. If there were, I would have already replaced mine!
__________________

__________________
F-350 Dually
Cedar Creek Silverback
Mazda Miata TOAD for sex appeal
danno2u is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fan

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:37 AM.