Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-23-2013, 09:22 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sequim, WA
Posts: 7
290RLT Bedroom fan installation

We just took delivery of our new Crusader and want to install a fantastic fan in the bedroom. Does anyone have experience in installing one? Also is there 12VDC wiring close for power?
__________________

Ted and Janet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 07:52 AM   #2
Commercial Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 580
Assuming you have a 2013 (or late 2012) model, the bedrooms are pre-wired for a second A/C so you could use the vent hole for installation of a 12V fan quite easily. All of the wiring for a fan installation will be very accessible when the vent shroud is removed. Good luck.

PTM
__________________

RV Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 04:14 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 11,111
Welcome to the forum and congrats on your new Crusader.
Wiscampsin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 06:00 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sequim, WA
Posts: 7
Isn't the A/C 110VAC? Is there something in the BR A/C that requires 12VDC wiring which I could use?
Ted and Janet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 11:53 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
another_newfie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 684
I expect once you remove the shroud you'll find 12VDC wiring easily accessible likely from ceiling lighting.
another_newfie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 08:42 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
yvesm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Pilot Mountain NC
Posts: 558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ted and Janet View Post
We just took delivery of our new Crusader and want to install a fantastic fan in the bedroom. Does anyone have experience in installing one? Also is there 12VDC wiring close for power?
We just got our tracer a week ago and I sent an email to Prime Time about installing a fan in the bedroom and they sent me a drawing of the roof and where to cut in a hole for a fan. I will steel power from the ceiling light.
__________________
2013 Prime Time 230 FBS
Days camped in 2013: April to November
Days camped in 2014...about 40
Days camped in 2015...more than 2014!!
yvesm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 10:43 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sequim, WA
Posts: 7
I called Prime Time and asked for a wiring diagram of the trailer and was told they didn't have one. Not sure of their credibility. I then asked what gauge wiring was used for the outlets and was told they would get back to me. Nothing! I found all the outlets were on one 15 amp circuit breaker. This means I can only have one appliance on at a time otherwise it pops the CB.
Ted and Janet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 11:02 PM   #8
William
 
WEMig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: South Louisiana
Posts: 560
Ted, I haven't had a camper in which you didn't have to watch how many appliances you put on a circuit. That's the nature of all three makes I've owned. If you have any issues with Prime Time, RV Guy in the second post in this discussion is a member of Prime Time management and can probably answer any questions you may have.
__________________
2012 Crusader 320RLT
2011 F250 Lariat 6.7L
2016 (19 Nights Camped/1348 Miles)
2015 (38 Nights Camped/3560 Miles)
2014 (28 Nights Camped/1980 Miles)
2013 (30 Nights Camped/1411 Miles)
WEMig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 05:07 AM   #9
Commercial Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 580
FYI - We do not provide wiring diagrams but will always try to answer specific wiring questions. We use both 12 Ga and 14 Ga wiring depending on the circuit. EVERY RV has limitations on the amount of available breakers in the converter box. Typically, you try to divide up the available circuits to the different areas of the RV. Each model is different in it's wiring distribution. Yes, you can easily overload a circuit if you try to plug in multiple high electricity-use appliances.

We are open to feedback on how to improve distribution of our circuits, but there are some limitations when wiring an RV that we have to accept.

PTM
RV Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 12:13 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 57
We purchased a 2012 290RLT in the fall of 2011. We were thinking of putting in a turbomax fan as it could be installed over the existing vent. Can we use the wiring from the light fixture slightly in front of the vent to power the fan?
portliz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 09:31 AM   #11
Commercial Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 580
portliz - that is a very common way of powering most after-market fans.

PTM
RV Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 09:35 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
another_newfie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 684
Portliz as RV guy suggests this method is incredibly common. To determine how many things are on that particular 12V run power on all lights or anything 12V and pull the appropriate fuse from your panel and watch what goes out. That way you'll know precisely what is on that run. A quick calculation can then tell you if you will have any load issues, although almost surely you won't.
another_newfie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 09:47 AM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sequim, WA
Posts: 7
That is what my plan is when I install a fan. The ceiling light has a on/off switch so getting power is no problem. I will install a Fantastic fan as the manufacturer has a lifetime warranty.
Ted and Janet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 08:36 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
irishrv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 265
So I am wondering still if there is a 12volt drop at the vent in the bedroom on a 2014 295rst with 50 amp. Would like to add a Fantastic fan. Or is everyone saying a 12volt lighting run can be accessed and tapped once the vent shroud is removed.

Thanks All
Paul
irishrv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 08:43 AM   #15
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,484
Quote:
Originally Posted by irishrv View Post
So I am wondering still if there is a 12volt drop at the vent in the bedroom on a 2014 295rst with 50 amp. Would like to add a Fantastic fan. Or is everyone saying a 12volt lighting run can be accessed and tapped once the vent shroud is removed.

Thanks All
Paul
Normally you would tap off the light near by the vent but its possible there's a run there but it would not be switched unless you have two switches in your bedroom.
Depending on how light is wired fan would only work when light was on.

Turbs
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 10:54 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
another_newfie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 684
Probing the wires while engaging the switch will tell you whether or not the circut you are about to tap will be powered independent of the switch.
another_newfie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 11:14 AM   #17
Denver, CO
 
garbonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 2,101
If you don't want to remove the entire vent, many have had success with the Vortex II units which leave the external part of the vent undisturbed.

Just an Idea.
__________________

__________________
2017 Fuse 23T
garbonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:48 PM.


×