Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-27-2014, 01:14 PM   #11
Member
 
Lynkage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Denver
Posts: 1,149
I can't seem to find the thread but someone had a very detailed thread about sealing up the duct work and the current single AC worked much better.

I think I would start there as I will as soon as I find the thread!!

__________________

__________________
Shane & Antoinette
2012 Ford F-450 SuperDuty
2013 Crusader 355BHQ
Lynkage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2014, 01:15 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
B and B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Wilmot Twp, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 8,604
Quote:
Originally Posted by volwing1 View Post
Does the 2012 Crusader 290RLT with 30 amp service also accommodate a 2nd AC?
I have been thinking of the same thing for my Rockwood which is 30 amp. There are always 20 amp outlets at most park pedestals. Run the second AC to a separate power disconnect and hook up just this AC to the 20 service using the 30 amp for the rest of the trailer. There are 50 amp cheater dog bones that split the second 120 VAC leg to a standard plug, this is more or less the same thing.Now the question that would be raised is 2 service entrance for the same trailer. I have seen this many times in TV Mobile systems, more than one source of power.
__________________

__________________
B and B is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2014, 01:25 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Katy, Tx
Posts: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lynkage View Post
I can't seem to find the thread but someone had a very detailed thread about sealing up the duct work and the current single AC worked much better.

I think I would start there as I will as soon as I find the thread!!

I believe I remember the thread also but me and the FR search don't get along too well.
__________________
2015 Crusader 315rst
2016 Ford F350 SRW 4x4 King Ranch 6.7L
Houstonkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2014, 02:10 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
pjones1969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: North Texas
Posts: 140
Not in a Crusader...... but I installed a 2nd ac in our Sabre's bedroom this weekend, it was factory prepped for 2nd ac with a separate thermostat. I was going to get a dealer to do it but got frustrated with them quoting me non-ducted units when I told them every time that I wanted ducted and already had the ductwork there so I decided to do it myself.

Its an easy project, you'll need some help to get it onto the roof and set in place. I backed my truck up to the front cap and had two guys in the bed push it up while I was on the roof with a rope, we taped cardboard to the bottom so it didn't scratch it up, went real smooth, hardest part was removing the existing vent.

I'm assuming you are taking out an existing roof vent and putting it there, do a little bit of investigating and find the wiring first and make sure you have ductwork taps already, if it is indeed prepped for a 2nd ac everything should be there. I had to remove a ceiling mounted speaker and fish around for the thermostat wiring, once you do that get the model number of your current ac and call the manufacturer and they will tell you what you need then you can download an installation manual online, and plan it out.

btw, mine was a Dometic, they were very helpful
__________________
2011 Puma Unleashed 27SBU - SOLD
2013 Sabre 32bhok-6 - SOLD
2012 Ford F250 6.2 - SOLD
2017 Heartland Cyclone 3800
2016 Ford F350 6.7 DRW
B&W Companion
pjones1969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 11:44 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 69
Please explain more. You taped into the same duct work that was existing? You had two units blowing into one ductwork? What about return air?

Thanks

Robert
__________________
rscconrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 08:25 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
pjones1969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: North Texas
Posts: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lynkage View Post
I can't seem to find the thread but someone had a very detailed thread about sealing up the duct work and the current single AC worked much better.

I think I would start there as I will as soon as I find the thread!!

I can't find this thread either right now but basically you remove your ac vent covers and tape up all of the "holes" in the transitions from the ductwork to the vent with foil tape and remove your existing air distribution box cover and make sure it is taped good in there, every hole is a path for air to escape the ductwork and enter into your roof cavity
__________________
2011 Puma Unleashed 27SBU - SOLD
2013 Sabre 32bhok-6 - SOLD
2012 Ford F250 6.2 - SOLD
2017 Heartland Cyclone 3800
2016 Ford F350 6.7 DRW
B&W Companion
pjones1969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 08:31 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
pjones1969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: North Texas
Posts: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by rscconrad View Post
Please explain more. You taped into the same duct work that was existing? You had two units blowing into one ductwork? What about return air?

Thanks

Robert
Yes, the ductwork was one common run, it already had taps where the existing vent in the bedroom was, after I removed the vent I foil taped the entire hole to tie it all together. The return air is on the air distribution box that mounts to the ceiling inside your bedroom.

Here's a pretty good illustration

R.V. Air Conditioner Troubleshooting

Here are some pictures
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	factory ductwork.jpg
Views:	163
Size:	205.3 KB
ID:	53637   Click image for larger version

Name:	taped ductwork.jpg
Views:	140
Size:	179.2 KB
ID:	53638   Click image for larger version

Name:	air distribution box.jpg
Views:	136
Size:	328.6 KB
ID:	53639   Click image for larger version

Name:	ac on roof.jpg
Views:	139
Size:	396.2 KB
ID:	53640  
__________________
2011 Puma Unleashed 27SBU - SOLD
2013 Sabre 32bhok-6 - SOLD
2012 Ford F250 6.2 - SOLD
2017 Heartland Cyclone 3800
2016 Ford F350 6.7 DRW
B&W Companion
pjones1969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 08:31 AM   #18
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by rscconrad View Post
Please explain more. You taped into the same duct work that was existing? You had two units blowing into one ductwork? What about return air?

Thanks

Robert
Return air is done right at the AC unit.
There is no return air "duct" on a dometic.

TURBS


"Sabre owners united"
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 08:35 AM   #19
Member
 
Lynkage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Denver
Posts: 1,149
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjones1969 View Post
I can't find this thread either right now but basically you remove your ac vent covers and tape up all of the "holes" in the transitions from the ductwork to the vent with foil tape and remove your existing air distribution box cover and make sure it is taped good in there, every hole is a path for air to escape the ductwork and enter into your roof cavity
Nice pics Pjones!!

I did find at least one of the threads about it and combined with yours this should be a great thread!!

Second air conditioner
__________________
Shane & Antoinette
2012 Ford F-450 SuperDuty
2013 Crusader 355BHQ
Lynkage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 08:39 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
pjones1969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: North Texas
Posts: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lynkage View Post
Nice pics Pjones!!

I did find at least one of the threads about it and combined with yours this should be a great thread!!

Second air conditioner
That's it!! subscribed for future reference

I still need to do the vents in the bunkhouse and pull the distribution box from the factory install, will do that on the next outing
__________________

__________________
2011 Puma Unleashed 27SBU - SOLD
2013 Sabre 32bhok-6 - SOLD
2012 Ford F250 6.2 - SOLD
2017 Heartland Cyclone 3800
2016 Ford F350 6.7 DRW
B&W Companion
pjones1969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
air conditioner, crusader

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:55 PM.