Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-25-2014, 07:16 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 226
2nd Air Conditioner for Crusader?

We had our Crusader 296BHS down in Moab a couple of weeks ago and it took awhile for the unit to cool down. The ducted vent in the front bedroom wasn't putting out much cool air and the bunkhouse was nice and cool. It was about 80 degrees F outside and quite cool at night. No trees on our RV site and we had 50 amp service.

The overall temperature was fine, but that experience left me wondering what I'll run into with hotter temps outside and wondering what may be involved in adding a 2nd AC unit.

I know the Crusaders are ducted AC units and pre-wired for the 2nd AC unit and is a 50 amp trailoer. Just googling around a bit, that left me with a couple of Crusader specific questions:

1. Does the 2nd AC unit for Crusader tie into the ducts or does it vent directly into the bedroom?

2. Does the factory thermostat work with two units?

3. Is this an easy DYI project?

4. Anybody done this and have suggestions?

This week we'll have the 5th wheel in Salt Lake City with temperatures in the mid-80s. We'll see how it performs. It looks like we'll have trees this time.
__________________

__________________
2014 Crusader 296BHS
2015 GMC 2500HD Denali
kohai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2014, 07:35 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 69
It vents directly into the room. Not on the installed thermostat. It is an easy DIY. An outlet. Is there by the vent ready to use. It is seperatley fused in your fuse box and it the hole for it is prefer amend. Typically a 13500 btu with manual controls is used


Good luck.

Robert
__________________

__________________
rscconrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2014, 08:51 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 48
Does the 2012 Crusader 290RLT with 30 amp service also accommodate a 2nd AC?
__________________
volwing1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2014, 09:09 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 69
Don't think so. You need 50 amp service
__________________
rscconrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2014, 10:01 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1
We purchased a new 325 RES a couple of months ago, doing most of our traveling in TX we decided to have the second A/C unit added. The unit we had installed has the controls directly located in it, so you can control the bed room unit separately which it makes that nice.

During the day the two units make it very comfortable during the heat of the day.
__________________
macmmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2014, 10:15 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by rscconrad View Post
It vents directly into the room. Not on the installed thermostat. It is an easy DIY. An outlet. Is there by the vent ready to use. It is seperatley fused in your fuse box and it the hole for it is prefer amend. Typically a 13500 btu with manual controls is used

Good luck.

Robert
Ahhh, I thought the electrical outlets in the ceiling were for the TV that can be added to the bedroom. Anybody recommend any specific AC unit? I'm thinking lower profile.
__________________
2014 Crusader 296BHS
2015 GMC 2500HD Denali
kohai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2014, 10:48 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
another_newfie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 684
Great info, we have been thinking about adding a second A/C. Is there an advantage to going with a model that can be thermostatically controlled? I assume that I'd likely have to upgrade the thermostat if I wanted to go that route?
__________________
2015 F-350 SRW 6.7 PSD
2014 Crusader 295RST

1 Fantastic DW
1 Amazing DD
1 Beagle that will be missed (RIP Zeus)
another_newfie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2014, 06:15 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
irishrv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by kohai View Post
Ahhh, I thought the electrical outlets in the ceiling were for the TV that can be added to the bedroom. Anybody recommend any specific AC unit? I'm thinking lower profile.

Those outlets are for tv. There will be the proper wiring for second ac once the vent is removed (on a 50 amp unit).
__________________
2014 295rst TE Champagne
09 GMC 2500HD D/A
irishrv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2014, 12:53 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4
Question Have a 2012 290RLT also...

I also have a 2012 290RLT. I do understand that I have 30 amp service and not 50 amp, but am interested in installing a 2nd a/c and having a separate plug to plug directly into the extra 20 amp plug at the park power pedestal. Has anyone had this done? Any ideas on an approximate price?
__________________
Dennis & April Holder
2012 Prime Time Crusader 290RLT
DHolder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2014, 01:09 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Katy, Tx
Posts: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by DHolder View Post
I also have a 2012 290RLT. I do understand that I have 30 amp service and not 50 amp, but am interested in installing a 2nd a/c and having a separate plug to plug directly into the extra 20 amp plug at the park power pedestal. Has anyone had this done? Any ideas on an approximate price?

x2, I would love to hear as much as possible. I will hopefully be doing this to my Lacrosse in the next month or so.
Addition of 2nd AC to non 50amp trailer?
__________________

__________________
2015 Crusader 315rst
2016 Ford F350 SRW 4x4 King Ranch 6.7L
Houstonkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
air conditioner, crusader

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 PM.