Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-24-2017, 12:25 PM   #1

Comparisons help with decision

I am deciding on a fifth wheel. A friend has a Crusader and is recommending the Prime time 5er. I am a newbie and so do an excessive amount of research which has left me confused. Hence I am looking for help.
The comparison is between a Jayco Eagle 27.5 and the Crusader. Pluses on the Jayco is a tongue and groove floor, more insulation on the floor. Stainless sink. 2 year warrantee compared to 1. Mor/Ryde suspension, and I believe the use of plywood instead of pressboard.

Am I correct in that?

Advantages of the Crusader, I like the dealer, lower price by about $5000 CAD I like the layouts but both are comparable. Am I missing something?

The Crusader, looks like it is not as well built but is it built well enough? I am planning to travel from coast to coast albeit not full timing. That is why I am looking at a trailer ideally under 30 feet.Will be just a couple of seniors travelling to see the country and visit their kids.
Any advice would be well appreciated
docdvm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2017, 12:28 PM   #2

Tanks size, tanks size, tanks size. When all other things are equal check livability and utility

Sent from my E5823 using Forest River Forums mobile app
Webfoot0807 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2017, 12:34 PM   #3

Fresh 48
Grey 65
Black 32.5

is that sufficient ? How does it compare?
docdvm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2017, 12:41 PM   #4

That sounds good. We can go a whole three day weekend with that much fresh water and that is showering everyday. Our limiting factor is a small grey tank, but we had no choice as it was the only floorplan we poved

Old 09-25-2017, 01:50 PM   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by docdvm View Post
Fresh 48
Grey 65
Black 32.5

is that sufficient ? How does it compare?