Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-17-2013, 06:46 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
LKicklight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: CHATSWORTH, GA.
Posts: 1,121
Don't Worry

Mine does the same thing..we have had it plugged in to shore power for about a month now..everytime I go out to the unit...it is on...I tune it to AUX, that way it does not make any noise...



Quote:
Originally Posted by EXGMTech View Post
Mine comes on by itself randomly...really spooked me ...hasn't done it lately though.
__________________

__________________
2500HD 6.0 Gas/Ext. Cab
2011 Crusader 270RET
2003 Sunnybrook T/T 30FIS
2012 Jeep Compass Limited
1985 S-10 One Owner:
LKicklight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 08:12 PM   #12
Somewhat right of center
 
Crabbyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 264
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwhitacre View Post
Hello all. I just wanted to share a minor wiring modification that I made to my entertainment center that has improved the audio system when watching TV. Our new Touring Edition has the Legend TV and a separate RCA Sound bar with DVD player in the living area. My issue was that the RCA sound bar with subwoofer was only available when playing the stereo or if playing the RCA DVD. When watching TV (antenna or sat) or when connecting a laptop to the HDMI inputs of the TV, the audio was only available over the TV speakers and not the nice sound bar and subwoofer.

Although I am not exactly sure why, the stereo did have analog audio output wires (red/white) that feed the TV speaker. I used one of these two audio wires and connected it instead to the unused orange "Coaxial" digital audio output on the Legend TV. I then removed the RCA stereo sound bar and relocated the other end of the same wire to the orange "coaxial" input on the back of the RCA stereo. Now I have digital audio over the RCA sound system that comes from whatever input source is selected and displayed on the TV.The only minor difficulty was getting to the inputs on the back of the RCA stereo. Had to remove the fireplace and central vac to expose a couple of screws holding the stereo in place.

On future units, Prime Time might want to consider utilizing these digital "coaxial" lines from the TV to the stereo instead of the red/white from the stereo to the TV.

Although I don't see an easy/clean way to do this after delivery, for video, it would be better to use HDMI or at least Component (R/G/B) video connections so that we are able to see the full progressive scan (480P) output of the RCA DVD player instead of the interlaced Yellow coax video (480i) it was delivered with. The video is not really an issue for me as I have a blue ray laptop that connects directly to the TV and with the audio mod, I now have digital audio from the computer on the sound bar as well.

Just some thoughts and suggestions from an Audio/Video geek.
Thanks, I was wondering how to get to the back of that soundbar to get to the HDMI output/inputs and see what else is on that back panel. Plus, I plan to swap it out in the future with a high end soundbar/bluray. I'll take a few measurements to see what will fit nicely in there. Great post.
__________________

__________________
Crabbyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 09:30 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 18
I removed the radio (sound bar) and put it under the tv. The radio is only 6" deep. The space it is in is 18"deep. Now I"m making a nice big draw 36" wide x 18" deep.
__________________
tspoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 09:44 PM   #14
Toy-aholic
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chalfont, PA
Posts: 708
I saw a pic of the interior of a '14 Crusader 335BHS and it looks like they changed the sounbar setup....looked like a small DVD player below the tv on the "counter" above the sounbar.
__________________
2005 GMC Sierra 3500 SLT DRW 6.6 D/A
2013 Crusader 335BHS TE
EXGMTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 09:58 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
LKicklight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: CHATSWORTH, GA.
Posts: 1,121
Modification

I want to make this change right now, but don't think I know enough about this to not make a mess out of it..got any suggestions on getting it done by a realible sound company without spending mega bucks??



Quote:
Originally Posted by jwhitacre View Post
Hello all. I just wanted to share a minor wiring modification that I made to my entertainment center that has improved the audio system when watching TV. Our new Touring Edition has the Legend TV and a separate RCA Sound bar with DVD player in the living area. My issue was that the RCA sound bar with subwoofer was only available when playing the stereo or if playing the RCA DVD. When watching TV (antenna or sat) or when connecting a laptop to the HDMI inputs of the TV, the audio was only available over the TV speakers and not the nice sound bar and subwoofer.

Although I am not exactly sure why, the stereo did have analog audio output wires (red/white) that feed the TV speaker. I used one of these two audio wires and connected it instead to the unused orange "Coaxial" digital audio output on the Legend TV. I then removed the RCA stereo sound bar and relocated the other end of the same wire to the orange "coaxial" input on the back of the RCA stereo. Now I have digital audio over the RCA sound system that comes from whatever input source is selected and displayed on the TV.The only minor difficulty was getting to the inputs on the back of the RCA stereo. Had to remove the fireplace and central vac to expose a couple of screws holding the stereo in place.

On future units, Prime Time might want to consider utilizing these digital "coaxial" lines from the TV to the stereo instead of the red/white from the stereo to the TV.

Although I don't see an easy/clean way to do this after delivery, for video, it would be better to use HDMI or at least Component (R/G/B) video connections so that we are able to see the full progressive scan (480P) output of the RCA DVD player instead of the interlaced Yellow coax video (480i) it was delivered with. The video is not really an issue for me as I have a blue ray laptop that connects directly to the TV and with the audio mod, I now have digital audio from the computer on the sound bar as well.

Just some thoughts and suggestions from an Audio/Video geek.
__________________
2500HD 6.0 Gas/Ext. Cab
2011 Crusader 270RET
2003 Sunnybrook T/T 30FIS
2012 Jeep Compass Limited
1985 S-10 One Owner:
LKicklight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 06:42 AM   #16
Somewhat right of center
 
Crabbyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 264
Well, removed the fireplace, took out the RCA radio/DVDplayer Soundbar and took the measurements for a replacement high end soundbar. If you have the same Crusader and want to swap it out: The opening is 4 1/4 tall X 37 X 9 1/2 deep EXACT. The sub is a different story and I didn't measure the space for it behind the Fireplace cause I'm planning to go with a wireless sub plus most of the higher end subs won't fit back there.
__________________
Crabbyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 09:00 AM   #17
on_the_bayou
 
PrimeTime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Gibson, Louisiana
Posts: 46
Moved DVD Player

I removed the DVD player and mounted it under the TV. Built a drawer in it's place.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20130602_065332.jpg
Views:	94
Size:	49.5 KB
ID:	31968  
__________________
2012 Crusader 290RLT
2012 Silverado 2500 Duramax (175,000 mi)
Camping:
2012: 4564 mi 31 days - 2013: 6277 mi 38 days
2014: 5146 mi 38 days - 2015: 1200 mi 9 days
2016: 342 mi 2 days - 2017: 2734 mi 22 days
PrimeTime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 09:19 AM   #18
Somewhat right of center
 
Crabbyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 264
Quote:
Originally Posted by PrimeTime View Post
I removed the DVD player and mounted it under the TV. Built a drawer in it's place.
Nice.
__________________
Crabbyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 08:09 PM   #19
Toy-aholic
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chalfont, PA
Posts: 708
FM reception update

had some extra time this afternoon so I cranked the a/c on and pulled the soundbar out to investgate the antenna situation. The fm is nothing more than a wire a couple feet long dangling behind the unit. Soooo I decided to take my amplified Terk out of the house & hook it up. Quite a differance, so it's new home is in the 5er. Some day I'm going to replace the panel the sub is up against with speaker fabric so I can actually HEAR the sub. My '11 Flagstaff TT was built that way...don't know why PT doesn't.
__________________
2005 GMC Sierra 3500 SLT DRW 6.6 D/A
2013 Crusader 335BHS TE
EXGMTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 06:49 AM   #20
Somewhat right of center
 
Crabbyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 264
Took the soundbar out yesterday to have a look. I replaced the red/white and yellow with a HDMI cable. Now on the remote I can toggle the HDMI button for standard 480 resolution, 720HD or 1080HD. I see a very small difference in picture quality from 480 and 720 (upscaling). No difference with 1080 cause the tv only is capable of 720. I figure if anything, the sound should be a little better, just make sure the soundbar is set to stereo for better sound. Then I took a red-right/white-left plugs only wire from my bag of wires and hooked up the audio outputs from the TV to the AUX1 inputs (AUX2 is on the front) on the sound bar so the sound from the TV is sent through the soundbar.

Played the dvd and it had some issues with loading so I know this player won't last long if it's struggling with that already. The cheaper ones usually have trouble finding their place on the dvd, freeze or won't play at all. When it finally did, it wasn't bad. Next I figured it shouldn't have a problem with a CD since there's much less information to process. It did just fine. The crazy part is it was playing the CD just fine when the sound all of a sudden started going loud-quiet, loud quiet in rhythm. I'm thinking, what's up with this thing now? Right before it started doing that I noticed I shut off the TV. I know, what the hell does that have to do with anything? I thought the same thing but figured I'd turn it back on. It stopped. WTF? So I turned the TV off again and it started again. This time I unplugged the TV after I turned it off and the bizarre behavior of the soundbar CD player stopped again. Turns out, and I don't know why but ever since I started using the HDMI cable, the TV is creating some sort of interference while it is off with power to it. Go figure. No big deal, I'll just unplug it or keep a news channel on while playing CD's. When the soundbar finally craps out, it'll be my opportunity to buy a real sound system. Don't forget, when using the AUX2 in the front for MP3 or whatever, on the remote (bottom right area) set the soundbar to stereo. As a matter of fact, stereo should be the default setting cause the other sound field (pretend surround) is useless and sounds terrible.
__________________

__________________
Crabbyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 AM.