Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-12-2015, 02:24 PM   #1

Did I mess up using a cover?

2014 Tracer 2670... im seasonal camper up in the Adirondacks in NY. I no longer have a truck and a way to pull camper so I leave it up to my seasonal campground this winter. It is parked under a bunch of trees and im afraid that the roof is gonna take a beating with falling sticks/twigs... since this is my first year leaving it up there i decided to buy an ADCO cover.. I purchased the heavy one made for heavy wind..
I installed the cover yesterday.cover seemed way big for camper.. I measured the camper like they said... anyways i have cover on and strapped all nice and snug... I have now been reading horror stories on these covers wearing holes in the rubber roof.. Problem is, campground is 2 plus hours from me and is now closed...
Has anyone else used a winter cover? we get tons of snow and ice up here.... Should i purchase some eternabond tape for this spring just in case there are holes in the rubber? or is this just a case that 1 person out of many had an issue just like most other things on the internet? im not sure i can get back up to the campground to remove the cover.. and not sure i want my roof pounded by sticks all winter long... I put the cover on so the cover takes the brunt of the ice/sticks...but now im alittle worried...thanks..
yankeeslover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2015, 02:57 PM   #2

I don't usually cover mine, but we use it about 11 months out of the year, either for camping or for an extra bed or just somewhere to get away from the kids for a little while. (Mine is a fifth wheel)