Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-19-2015, 12:15 PM   #21
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
Quote:
Originally Posted by OldCoot View Post
I was told by the Dish technician to point the handle North.
X2
__________________

__________________
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2015, 12:16 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,562
I use a cheap hand held ball compass to see which direction is south and set the sat antenna down holding the handle while looking at the southern sky. My instructions say to position antenna with a clear view of the southern sky (that puts the handle of course facing north). There are 3 satellites needed for HD and only 2 needed for SD (sometimes trees prevent HD). Have never had to be precise, unless trees are an issue to get lock-on and then just slight adjustments are made. The whole dish thing is easy and reliable.
__________________

__________________
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2015, 04:20 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
DKRITTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Haslet Texas
Posts: 573
Programing the remote

I used one of the Emerson settings to get most of it to work

Couldn't get the Mute to work though. I got on line and found this on the dish site; 20/21 Remote

Sad thing is this also didn't work.


I can get the volume to work now and turn on/off the TV.
__________________
DKRITTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2015, 01:21 AM   #24
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 17
I have had a tailgater for 5 or 6 years with the
211K receiver. I have found that if the receiver is not used for a couple of months that I always have to call Dish and get them to send a reset signal before I can see all my channels. As mentioned above, they have me go through the complete setup before they finally give in and reset it, but once they reset, it happens almost immediately. I've never had anyone to come out or charge me to get it going again. Depending on how far away from home you are, you may lose your local channels. We are TVaholics so it's one of the first things we set up when we arrive at camp. Satellite AR application is free for Android phones but Dish satellite numbers don't correspond to numbers on app. With the tailgayer you just set it on flat surface with handle pointed north with a southern exposire and turn receiver on. You answer a couple of questions on the screen and the system does the rest. Usually takes about 10 minutes and you're watching your favorite channels.
__________________
rrickett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2015, 08:36 AM   #25
Senior Member
 
DKRITTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Haslet Texas
Posts: 573
Ok we purchase a 211Z and the new style tailgater and are not real happy.

We are having consistent problems with signal loss, when we change channels it usually pops up with a screen and says signal loss.

We have tried repositioning the tailgater several times (clear view of the southern sky) and have rescanned several times and it does not improve.

Is this normal or did i get a poor system?
__________________
DKRITTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2015, 08:41 AM   #26
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
How long do you have signal loss?

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded, 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "2 nights"
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2015, 10:46 AM   #27
Senior Member
 
DKRITTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Haslet Texas
Posts: 573
Usually several minutes.
__________________
DKRITTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2015, 10:52 AM   #28
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by DKRITTER View Post
Usually several minutes.
Hmmm.

Doesn't seem right.

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded, 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "2 nights"
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2015, 11:05 AM   #29
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Try hooking the sat dome coax right to the receiver and see if it still does it.

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded, 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "2 nights"
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2015, 01:16 PM   #30
Senior Member
 
buffalohunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Martinez, CA
Posts: 296
DKRITTER -

I had an issue like that in the past and called Dish Tech Support. They sent a fix via satellite to the receiver that solved the issue for me. If the tech says they don't know about that request a mobile (RV) Tech - there is or was a difference in knowledge by RV techs vs the general techs.

Good Luck,
Jim
__________________

__________________
2012 Rockwood Windjammer 3008 W
2007 Tundra Reg Cab 4X4 SR5 5.7L
buffalohunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:02 PM.