Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-04-2011, 09:00 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 325
Furnace and Fan

Driveway camped this weekend just to make sure everything works and is ready to go for the 15th. Noticed something different from my Roo. When I ran my furnace, the overhead fan of the AC unit ran. I guess that is to help with condensation/moisture. It was quite noisy. Had to crank up the TV to hear it. Is there any way to slow down the fan speed to decrease the noise? It sounds like the fan is on high.
__________________

__________________
2011 Lacrosse 318BHS Touring Edition
2012 Ford F150 SupCrew 4x4 XLT 6.5' Max Tow
padave65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 09:16 AM   #2
CLASS "A" Senior Member
 
cfsoistman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Upperco, Maryland
Posts: 3,135
What t-stat do you have? Does it control both Furnace & AC? If you set the switch to Furnace that's all that should run. The blower on the furnace runs off the controls within the furnace. If you have the Fan Switch set to On at the t-stat that's why the AC Unit fan is running. Unless you want that fan to run the switch should be set to Auto. I've never heard of the two units being wired together. You may have a crossed or shorted wire at the t-Stat.
__________________

__________________

2007 Georgetown 370TS
aka - RAYNMKR

Driver: Charlie
Navigator: Sheri
cfsoistman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 10:53 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 325
It has a digital display to set the temp. You can select ac, fan, furnace or off. A light eluminates by the selection. I had furnace selected. The furnace ran but so did the fan.
__________________
2011 Lacrosse 318BHS Touring Edition
2012 Ford F150 SupCrew 4x4 XLT 6.5' Max Tow
padave65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 11:38 AM   #4
CLASS "A" Senior Member
 
cfsoistman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Upperco, Maryland
Posts: 3,135
Is this the T-Stat you have? If so check page 3 "D" about Furnace operations. Hope this helps.

http://www.dometic.com/FileOrganizer...eration_EN.pdf

Is this the original t-stat or has it been switched out to upgrade to Digital? If so there are a few posts showing the correct wiring diagram but you need to provide the Manufacturer and Model # for the correct diagram. Do a search in FR for T-stat Digital Upgrade.
__________________

2007 Georgetown 370TS
aka - RAYNMKR

Driver: Charlie
Navigator: Sheri
cfsoistman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 02:00 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
grhodes50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Eastern Oklahoma, USA
Posts: 2,613
Do you have the same one I have, Dometic?
When you select fan use the +/- to select AUTO - HI - LOW. Make sure it's set to AUTO. If you have it set on HI or LOW the fan will run while the furnance is on.

Hope this helps.
__________________

Gary & Trish
"PT Crew Member Since 11/2010"
2017 Prime Time Crusader 315RST TE 6.0 : 2007 Flagstaff 206ST MAC Series
2012 F-250 Lariat : FX4 : CC : SB : 6.7L Diesel : 3/55 Gears

2017 Nights Camped - 4
grhodes50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 06:34 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
grhodes50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Eastern Oklahoma, USA
Posts: 2,613
Just found a pic of my thermostat.

Dometic
Single Zone LCD Thermostat

Model #3313192.XXX Cool/Furnance


Instructions for the fan speed settings are on page 7 of the instruction manual. It does state the fan will operate continuously while set on HIGH or LOW and the fan will be off when set on AUTO.
On page 11 there is a section on Special Features. It states that when the fan is set on AUTO and the difference between the tempature set point and actual room tempature is >5į the fan will run on HIGH and when <4į the fan will run on LOW.
__________________

Gary & Trish
"PT Crew Member Since 11/2010"
2017 Prime Time Crusader 315RST TE 6.0 : 2007 Flagstaff 206ST MAC Series
2012 F-250 Lariat : FX4 : CC : SB : 6.7L Diesel : 3/55 Gears

2017 Nights Camped - 4
grhodes50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 06:48 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
M109Rrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Chesapeake, Va
Posts: 883
Yep, same one I have......and I did the same thing until I figured out how to put it in Auto......
__________________

Jason and Billie
2005 Dodge Ram 2500, 4X4, QC/SB 5.9L Cummins
15k non-sliding Hidden Hitch (they lied, it's not hidden at all)
2011 Prime Time Crusader 320RLT
"PT Crew Member Since 11/2010"
M109Rrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 09:31 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 325
This is mine....selected fan then set it to auto and then moved to furnace...no fan. Thanks for the info. Did the trick. Can't find my manual. I do not remember getting one. thanks for your help!
__________________
2011 Lacrosse 318BHS Touring Edition
2012 Ford F150 SupCrew 4x4 XLT 6.5' Max Tow
padave65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 11:01 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
grhodes50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Eastern Oklahoma, USA
Posts: 2,613
No problem. Glad I coud help.
__________________

Gary & Trish
"PT Crew Member Since 11/2010"
2017 Prime Time Crusader 315RST TE 6.0 : 2007 Flagstaff 206ST MAC Series
2012 F-250 Lariat : FX4 : CC : SB : 6.7L Diesel : 3/55 Gears

2017 Nights Camped - 4
grhodes50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2011, 10:43 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2
What about the opposite issue. I run the ac but the furnace also comes on?
__________________

__________________
Theburgerman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fan

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:20 AM.