Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-27-2013, 04:33 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 9
Roof top a/c filter - where is it?

Hi, I have a 2012 Crusader 320RLT with a roof top a/c 15,000btu's.
There are two intake vents - one in the kitchen area and one in the dinning area. I took one of the covers off, figuring there would be a filter in it, but there was not. So where is the a/c filter - on the unit itself? How do I maintain it.

The a/c is a Dometic #541916A701C0

Thanks
Bill
__________________

__________________
MuddaFadda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 04:40 PM   #2
B47
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Keller, Texas
Posts: 6,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by MuddaFadda View Post
Hi, I have a 2012 Crusader 320RLT with a roof top a/c 15,000btu's.
There are two intake vents - one in the kitchen area and one in the dinning area. I took one of the covers off, figuring there would be a filter in it, but there was not. So where is the a/c filter - on the unit itself? How do I maintain it.

The a/c is a Dometic #541916A701C0

Thanks
Bill
We have the Dometic a/c also and the filter is on top of the interior discharge vent discharge cover. Ours is washable.

Not sure what you mean by "intake vents".
__________________

__________________
B47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 04:55 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Oakman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Jefferson County, MO
Posts: 5,201
Iíve never heard of a 15k A/C that had two intake vents so yourís might be completely different from mine. Hereís a photo of the intake on my 15k A/C. Look at the area where the grill work is open. The washable filter is right behind that. You remove it by squeezing the two tabs and pulling down.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SAM_3772.jpg
Views:	113
Size:	38.8 KB
ID:	31449  
__________________


Bob and Joyce
2013 CC Silverback 29RL
2010 Ford F250 XL Crew Cab 6.4 liter diesel
ATU Local 788
Oakman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 04:58 PM   #4
B47
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Keller, Texas
Posts: 6,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oakman View Post
Iíve never heard of a 15k A/C that had two intake vents so yourís might be completely different from mine. Hereís a photo of the intake on my 15k A/C. Look at the area where the grill work is open. The washable filter is right behind that. You remove it by squeezing the two tabs and pulling down.
That's just like mine.
__________________
B47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 05:25 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: X
Posts: 2,781
The PrimeTime 5ers have the "QuietCool" system. Regular ducting (like in you home) for the AC. It makes the AC much quieter than those direct vents you've shown.

I don't think we have a filter.
__________________
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 06:46 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Oakman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Jefferson County, MO
Posts: 5,201
That sounds like a very "cool" system.
__________________


Bob and Joyce
2013 CC Silverback 29RL
2010 Ford F250 XL Crew Cab 6.4 liter diesel
ATU Local 788
Oakman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 08:41 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Orange Texas
Posts: 609
Send a message via MSN to Tiggerdad
Have one in each of the return air vents on my Crusader. They are washable foam. Look's like they left yours out. Pick up a filter at Wally World or any of the big box stores and cut to fit. Would have been nice if we didn't have 4 screws to remove to access each of the,
__________________

2013 Crusader 330 MKS
2013 Chevrolet Silverado LT 2500 D/A
Tiggerdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 04:25 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 9
Thanks-

Looks like there is no filter in the return vents - others seeing this as well?
Have to be careful putting a piece of foam under the vent cover - if it gets loose it will be sucked into the unit.
__________________
MuddaFadda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 04:36 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: South Louisiana
Posts: 125
Mine has a little cardboard frames that the washable filter is stapled to. One in each return vent cover. I have to take the staples out and re-staple each time I wash them
__________________
southernsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 04:44 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
another_newfie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 684
I will check my 2014 295RST and see if there are filters or not.
__________________

__________________
another_newfie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:13 PM.