Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-30-2015, 02:35 PM   #41

tlamb6463, all other issues aside (yes, I do believe that a few of the hundreds produced have many/major issues) I keep going back to your issue of things loosening up and/or falling off, ie; screws falling out, fenders & skirting loose, spare coming down & things falling through cabinet bottoms (including the possible flexing issue you describe).

This sounds like excessive vibration is the culprit. Short trips it's not noticable but, on long trips with prolonged (hours) driving, the constant vibration is shaking everything loose including the spare tire coming down and/or possibly breaking welds in the frame. Now, I'm not a structural engineer but, it seems like common sense to me that this kind of constant "pounding" would have to cause issues.

So, with that being said, have you had the dealer check the tires & bearings? Trailer tires are usually NOT balanced. The tires should be balanced and if it's as bad as it sounds, you may also have a bad tire that no amount of wheel weight will fix! Loose bearing (s) could be causing wheel "wobble" and vibration. Have them check the shocks while their under there. A bad shock can cause the unbalanced tire to just bounce uncontrollably exacerbating the vibration.

Just my 2 cents worth. Good luck!
rracer5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2015, 07:35 PM   #42

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbaird View Post
Prime time need s to recall the 3901
I think every trailer mfr is going to have bad units it is sad that the pre delivery isnt better. Also bad on are part for not doing a better job of pre inspecting before we leave. My first year of owning are 2014 3600 we had alot of small issues. I had the putty coming out on my unit to I removed it and nothing else has come out.
Ductwerks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2015, 08:47 PM   #43