Old 07-24-2012, 01:15 PM   #1

Super Duty w/ a 7 foot bed with a Crusader

I have A 2011 Crusader and a 2008 Super Duty with a 7 foot bed. I was wondering if someone else with a Crusader and a newer Super Duty could tell me the distance between the tail gate and trailer with the gate down when hooked up.
I installed a 5th wheel hitch ( Reese Elite 18 k) from my last pick up that had a 8 foot bed into my new pick up ( 2008 Super Duty Crew Cab w/ 7 foot bed) and the Super Duty already had a B&W setup in it that was much beter than the Reese kit. The B&W only has one hole in the center of the bed, and with the Reese you have to put 4 holes that stick up a bit. So, I decided to machine a adaptor so i could us the B&W kit already in the truck with my Reese hitch ( I have been doing fabrication and machining for 20 years its plenty safe).
I have built an adjustable plate, so i can move the hitch foward and back, but i want it a far forward and over the rear axle as possable with out hitting the cab, so if someone with a Super Duty with a 7 foot bed could tell the distance hooked up it would be very helpfull.

Old 07-24-2012, 01:51 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Where is the hitch centerline now relative to the rear axle?

I know on mine, using the reese instructions and measurement, the hitch centerline is 4" ahead of the axle centerline. With our Rockwood, the tailgate is as about 3" from the front of the basement when hitching up. Pretty tight...need to be pretty close to lining up with the camper to hitch up. BTW, the box is really 6'9".

Even if a Crusader owner doesn't have an '08 - 10 F250, they could give you a measurement from the king pin centerline to the front of the basement at the height of their truck bed.

Dave

Nights camped in 2013 - 55, 2014 - 105, 2015 - 63
Dave_Monica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 02:31 PM   #3