Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2015, 09:48 PM   #11
Member
 
DodgeCamper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 33
Any problems with the hard wire models when on generator power?
__________________

__________________
2015 RAM 2500 Diesel
2015 Lacrosse 329BHT
DodgeCamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 09:53 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Dacula, Georgia
Posts: 1,200
Progressive=Lifetime Warranty
__________________

__________________
SilverbackMel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 09:53 PM   #13
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by DodgeCamper View Post
Any problems with the hard wire models when on generator power?
Run mine on gennie several times a year.
It's possible tho that you'll have to make and use a neutral bonded plug to make it work.

http://www.noshockzone.org/generator...utral-bonding/

TURBS
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 10:19 PM   #14
Member
 
DodgeCamper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by TURBS View Post
Run mine on gennie several times a year.
It's possible tho that you'll have to make and use a neutral bonded plug to make it work.

http://www.noshockzone.org/generator...utral-bonding/

TURBS

It seems like that is only for motor homes that have onboard generators, am I correct? I have a Lacrosse 329bht, I am thinking of putting a 50amp surge guard or progressive hardware unit. I would just be running on generator occasionally and would get a generator that could carry the full load of 50 amps (my wife doesn't like to hot). Would I still need the plug or does it depend on the generator?
__________________
2015 RAM 2500 Diesel
2015 Lacrosse 329BHT
DodgeCamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 10:29 PM   #15
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by DodgeCamper View Post
It seems like that is only for motor homes that have onboard generators, am I correct? I have a Lacrosse 329bht, I am thinking of putting a 50amp surge guard or progressive hardware unit. I would just be running on generator occasionally and would get a generator that could carry the full load of 50 amps (my wife doesn't like to hot). Would I still need the plug or does it depend on the generator?
False.
Any portable gennie may need this plug.
A 50 amp capable generator will neither be light nor quiet.
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 10:34 PM   #16
Member
 
DodgeCamper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by TURBS View Post
False.
Any portable gennie may need this plug.
A 50 amp capable generator will neither be light nor quiet.

Thanks Turbs, that is exactly what I was looking for.
__________________
2015 RAM 2500 Diesel
2015 Lacrosse 329BHT
DodgeCamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 10:43 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
mud yapster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,162
X3 on the 50 amp hard wire surge.
__________________
2014 Palomino Columbus 3650TH
435AH 12V VMax Charge Tanks, 520 watt Monocrystilline Solar Array, Morningstar MPPT TS-60 CC,Morningstar Remote,Cotek True Sine Wave Inverter,Cotek Remote Controller,50amp Progressive Hardwire Surge Protector
2015 Dodge 3500 6.7L 4X4
2011 CanAm Commander XT 1000
mud yapster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 12:09 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by DodgeCamper View Post
Any problems with the hard wire models when on generator power?
On my PI with the internal display, there is a button on the display I have to push to let it work with the generators. I think it isn't seeing the ground and won't run in that mode without overriding it (which is normal for the generators). I use two honda 2000s.
__________________
2014 Crusader 296BHS
2015 GMC 2500HD Denali
kohai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 12:11 PM   #19
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by kohai View Post
On my PI with the internal display, there is a button on the display I have to push to let it work with the generators. I think it isn't seeing the ground and won't run in that mode without overriding it (which is normal for the generators). I use two honda 2000s.
You need to make a neutral bonded plug to stick in one of the 15 amp receptacles.
I also posted this in post 13

Then you can use your gennie with the PI unit

http://www.noshockzone.org/generator...utral-bonding/
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 12:34 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
BigTJohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Palm Coast FL
Posts: 746
I do have question for those with the remote readout. Do you actually use/look at the readout or only when first connecting to power? I know when there is an elec problem, the unit shuts down power to the rig, monitors for when it comes back, checks for quality of power then allows power to flow. I guess my real question is: why have a remote readout? Unless you are watching it the moment power goes "wonkie" (an electrical technical term) you will not know why until the power comes back on and you can poll the remote to what the problem "was" - was...the problem is over, nothing you can do about it (if it was incoming power problem) and now the power is back on, your protector has done its job and all is "hunky dory" (the last technical term I'll use). I just can't see spending $100 or so for remote that essentially tells me nothing until after the event. Just sayin'.
__________________

__________________
Brenda and John
'14 Ram 3500 MCSB 6.7L HO PullRite 16K S/G, Grey Columbus 320RS Camped '14 - 146 days/'15 - 196 days
USN-EOD(Ret), Master Chief, 30 yrs,
Master Blaster of the Navy
BigTJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:53 AM.