Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-26-2015, 12:36 PM   #21
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,336
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigTJohn View Post
I do have question for those with the remote readout. Do you actually use/look at the readout or only when first connecting to power? I know when there is an elec problem, the unit shuts down power to the rig, monitors for when it comes back, checks for quality of power then allows power to flow. I guess my real question is: why have a remote readout? Unless you are watching it the moment power goes "wonkie" (an electrical technical term) you will not know why until the power comes back on and you can poll the remote to what the problem "was" - was...the problem is over, nothing you can do about it (if it was incoming power problem) and now the power is back on, your protector has done its job and all is "hunky dory" (the last technical term I'll use). I just can't see spending $100 or so for remote that essentially tells me nothing until after the event. Just sayin'.
I look at it all the time.
Watch incoming voltage.
Watch total amp draw.

I like to see how close I am to my max amps when running a/c and other items.

TURBS
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 12:41 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigTJohn View Post
I do have question for those with the remote readout. Do you actually use/look at the readout or only when first connecting to power? I know when there is an elec problem, the unit shuts down power to the rig, monitors for when it comes back, checks for quality of power then allows power to flow. I guess my real question is: why have a remote readout? Unless you are watching it the moment power goes "wonkie" (an electrical technical term) you will not know why until the power comes back on and you can poll the remote to what the problem "was" - was...the problem is over, nothing you can do about it (if it was incoming power problem) and now the power is back on, your protector has done its job and all is "hunky dory" (the last technical term I'll use). I just can't see spending $100 or so for remote that essentially tells me nothing until after the event. Just sayin'.
The display also tells you your current power consumption in amps, what voltage level is coming in, and on which leg of the power the load from the trailer is on.
__________________

__________________
2014 Crusader 296BHS
2015 GMC 2500HD Denali
kohai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 01:03 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
jtownstumpjumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Jonesboro AR--Home of Arkansas State University and the Red Wolves
Posts: 507
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigTJohn View Post
I do have question for those with the remote readout. Do you actually use/look at the readout or only when first connecting to power? I know when there is an elec problem, the unit shuts down power to the rig, monitors for when it comes back, checks for quality of power then allows power to flow. I guess my real question is: why have a remote readout? Unless you are watching it the moment power goes "wonkie" (an electrical technical term) you will not know why until the power comes back on and you can poll the remote to what the problem "was" - was...the problem is over, nothing you can do about it (if it was incoming power problem) and now the power is back on, your protector has done its job and all is "hunky dory" (the last technical term I'll use). I just can't see spending $100 or so for remote that essentially tells me nothing until after the event. Just sayin'.
Yeah, I agree it's a little pricey for the remote, but I also totally agree with the two previous post as to it's usage.....I mounted mine up inside my control panel and as they said.....just open the door to my control panel and I can instantly see the load on both legs with voltage and amp readings....you'll learn in time where your heavy loads are and what they're pulling....just another informative toy for us RVer's to install.
__________________
Lloyd & Kathy & Kit(18 yr old cat)
2018 Forest River Palomino Columbus 383FB
2016 Chevy 3500HD SRW Z71 LTZ 4WD Crew Cab, DuraMax/Allison.
2014 - 38 nights/3500 mi.; 2015 - 66 nights/6260 mi.; 2016 - 44 nights/6106 mi.
2017-59 nights/5901 mi.
jtownstumpjumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 01:06 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
BigTJohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Palm Coast FL
Posts: 746
So you stare at it, constantly, watching the little numbers change, 26 amps. 121 vac, 27 amps leg 2, 124 vac, etc, etc?? Duh, not what I plan on doing camping. HA!! I know, just a glance every now and then but when power changes happen, it is really fast and looking at the a blank panel to tell you power is off...well. Check with OC, I bet he has cool method.
__________________
Brenda and John
'14 Ram 3500 MCSB 6.7L HO PullRite 16K S/G, Grey Columbus 320RS Camped '14 - 146 days/'15 - 196 days
USN-EOD(Ret), Master Chief, 30 yrs,
Master Blaster of the Navy
BigTJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 01:08 PM   #25
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,336
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigTJohn View Post
So you stare at it, constantly, watching the little numbers change, 26 amps. 121 vac, 27 amps leg 2, 124 vac, etc, etc?? Duh, not what I plan on doing camping. HA!! I know, just a glance every now and then but when power changes happen, it is really fast and looking at the a blank panel to tell you power is off...well. Check with OC, I bet he has cool method.
Mostly I look at it when first plugging in.
When I'm plugged into my gennie I look at it more often.
But like the previous poster I open the door during high load situations just to see what's happening.

TURBS
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 01:20 PM   #26
Member
 
DodgeCamper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by kohai View Post
On my PI with the internal display, there is a button on the display I have to push to let it work with the generators. I think it isn't seeing the ground and won't run in that mode without overriding it (which is normal for the generators). I use two honda 2000s.
What model do you use?
__________________
DodgeCamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 10:26 PM   #27
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by DodgeCamper View Post
What model do you use?
EMS-HW50C
__________________
2014 Crusader 296BHS
2015 GMC 2500HD Denali
kohai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 10:28 PM   #28
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by TURBS View Post
You need to make a neutral bonded plug to stick in one of the 15 amp receptacles.
I also posted this in post 13

Then you can use your gennie with the PI unit

Generator Ground-Neutral Bonding | No~Shock~Zone
I went and bought a plug today and built one. I'll try it out next time I'm on generator power.... when the snow melts.... and it's warm.
__________________
2014 Crusader 296BHS
2015 GMC 2500HD Denali
kohai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 10:29 PM   #29
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,336
Quote:
Originally Posted by kohai View Post
I went and bought a plug today and built one. I'll try it out next time I'm on generator power.... when the snow melts.... and it's warm.
Sounds good to me!

TURBS
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2015, 08:52 AM   #30
Senior Member
 
hammer55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: central valley, california
Posts: 455
true, I cannot see the use for me either, it doesn't keep a record, and I really don't care how much power I am using, when at home I don't use any real power, and when I am connected to a pole at a camp site, it doesn't matter either, because I am paying a flat rate per night, so I just went with the cheaper receptacle remote one, where I see what is up with the power when I plug it in, the web site said they all had the life time warranty, but maybe I am wrong, usually am besides I am a cheap skate,,,,

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigTJohn View Post
I do have question for those with the remote readout. Do you actually use/look at the readout or only when first connecting to power? I know when there is an elec problem, the unit shuts down power to the rig, monitors for when it comes back, checks for quality of power then allows power to flow. I guess my real question is: why have a remote readout? Unless you are watching it the moment power goes "wonkie" (an electrical technical term) you will not know why until the power comes back on and you can poll the remote to what the problem "was" - was...the problem is over, nothing you can do about it (if it was incoming power problem) and now the power is back on, your protector has done its job and all is "hunky dory" (the last technical term I'll use). I just can't see spending $100 or so for remote that essentially tells me nothing until after the event. Just sayin'.
__________________

__________________
Mark & Annie
2014 COACHMEN PURSUIT 27 KB
Modesto, Central California
hammer55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:08 PM.