Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-17-2014, 09:08 AM   #1

Tracer 2670..where to install a hardwired surge protector

I have a 2014 tracer 2670. My family and I have decided to go seasonal at a local jellystone park this summer in the Adirondacks of NYS. This is only my second season with a camper so im still a newbie.. I know I just got tired last summer of constantly towing the camper on a late Friday night only to packup and leave on a sunday, so we decided to go seasonal this summer and see if we like it...
Too my question, this year I want to purchase a surge protector as I believe Im gonna leave the power on all summer long even during the week when im not at the campground as I want to leave the fridge hooked up. After research I have decided im gonna get the progressive industries protection. I am still debating on the portable unit vs the hardwired unit. they are both roughly $250.00. I am not the most handy person in the world and if I pay someone to do it, its gonna probably cost me another couple hundred in labor to install the hardwired one which is why right now im leaning towards the portable one.