Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-23-2014, 08:52 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
RollingDownTheHighway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 624
water heater only working on propane

I have a 3200bht and I'm on our first trip of the season and the water heater is only running when I have the switch on for propane. last season I ran it off of electric. any idea what I should check to get it running on electric? (yes I had the switch on for electric)

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByForest River Forums1400892763.423767.jpg
Views:	141
Size:	785.4 KB
ID:	53117
__________________

__________________
2013 Prime Time Tracer 3200BHT
2016 Chevy 3500 CC, DRW (aka: bigbootyjudy)
Ribs in the smoker and Whiskey in hand
RollingDownTheHighway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2014, 09:19 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Ford Idaho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Idaho
Posts: 9,840
Did you winterize it?




Look there.
__________________

__________________
2016 F350 6.7L LB CC Reese 28K 2014 Chaparral Lite 266sab
"Those who would give up essential Liberty, to purchase a little temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety." 2014 19 days camping 2015 17 days camping201620 days camping
Ford Idaho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2014, 09:25 PM   #3
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Since your AC switch is on the panel, I think you need to check the AC breaker first.

Next step is outside for the reset button for the high limit switch. They should be something like this.

After that you will need a meter to check for voltage at the bottom of the left thermostat (water heater cold). If no voltage your thermostat could be bad. If voltage, your heater element is likely shot.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Limit Switch Reset.jpg
Views:	114
Size:	47.7 KB
ID:	53122   Click image for larger version

Name:	waterheater.jpg
Views:	109
Size:	46.9 KB
ID:	53123  
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2014, 09:28 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
RollingDownTheHighway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 624
no, I had the dealer do it since they were doing some warranty work
__________________
2013 Prime Time Tracer 3200BHT
2016 Chevy 3500 CC, DRW (aka: bigbootyjudy)
Ribs in the smoker and Whiskey in hand
RollingDownTheHighway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2014, 09:28 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
kenandterry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,328
If you didn't have any water in the tank when the electricity was applied to the heating element............it most likely "fried" the element faster than it took for you to read this sentence.
__________________

Ken and Terry
2010 Georgetown 330TS being pushed by our
2017 GMC Terrain toad (4 wheels down)
kenandterry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2014, 09:31 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 69
Check the circuit breaker. It should have been switched off for the winter so it does not run sccidentaly
__________________
rscconrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2014, 09:32 PM   #7
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenandterry View Post
If you didn't have any water in the tank when the electricity was applied to the heating element............it most likely "fried" the element faster than it took for you to read this sentence.
My buddy had his anode out while he was winterizing and had never noticed the AC switch on the outside before. He flipped it on to "see what it did." He found out when sparks flew out of the anode hole.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2014, 09:37 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
RollingDownTheHighway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 624
the breaker was off i just turned it on but nothing.

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByForest River Forums1400895435.201357.jpg
Views:	151
Size:	509.3 KB
ID:	53125

I don't see reset buttons
__________________
2013 Prime Time Tracer 3200BHT
2016 Chevy 3500 CC, DRW (aka: bigbootyjudy)
Ribs in the smoker and Whiskey in hand
RollingDownTheHighway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2014, 09:48 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
kenandterry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,328
I just realized that the OP was having trouble with an Atwood Brand water heater (as shown in his photo)........NOT a Suburban like some of the photos others have included.

Do they operate that differently?
__________________

Ken and Terry
2010 Georgetown 330TS being pushed by our
2017 GMC Terrain toad (4 wheels down)
kenandterry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2014, 10:24 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
abjb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 548
I wouldn’t think it matters, if it was empty and the electricity was on the heating element is toast.

ab&jb
__________________

__________________
2012 Georgetown 360
SHE wanted "a new motorhome"
abjb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
heater, propane, water, water heater

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:27 AM.