Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-06-2019, 02:59 PM   #1

Where to place jack when changing tire

I have a 2018 315RST Crusader. Can someone please tell me the proper place to jack the unit without causing damage? My owners manual does not address this. Some say to place under axle near or on u-bolt and others say to place the jack against the frame. Any info would be appreciated.
DeltaMud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2019, 03:25 PM   #2

Either place should be ok, just don't lift at the center of the axle. Which you use depends on the type of jack you are using, the terrain the jack is resting on and the amount of lift the jack has.
Old 06-06-2019, 03:36 PM   #3
Always Learning

I'm no mechanic. I'm not even handy. So, take my advice for what you paid for it.

My take is that the axle tube is already supporting all of the weight at the U-bolts. So I jack between them or right next to them.

I really would like to have a "U" cradle made to straddle the U-bolt and curve up around the axle. But I haven't gotten around to asking anyone for it yet.

I also need to try out using my leveling system for this. Supposedly it's the easiest way!
Old 06-06-2019, 04:04 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by ependydad View Post
I'm no mechanic. I'm not even handy. So, take my advice for what you paid for it.

My take is that the axle tube is already supporting all of the weight at the U-bolts. So I jack between them or right next to them.

I really would like to have a "U" cradle made to straddle the U-bolt and curve up around the axle. But I haven't gotten around to asking anyone for it yet.

I also need to try out using my leveling system for this. Supposedly it's the easiest way!
here you go...

https://safejacks.com/products/axle-...or-bottle-jack

or... welding required

https://www.amazon.com/SWAG-Road-Bot.../dp/B00LBFPN82
born in Texas.... live in Arkansas