Old 11-12-2014, 01:56 PM   #1

Boondocking and generator

Wife and I are planning on staying in a Few national parks next summer so we bought a generator. Got it last night and it made me think of a few questions.

i bought a 1700w/2000w Champion from Cabelas. Do i hook up to the battery to charge it or do i plug the camper into the generator? any pros or cons?

Old 11-12-2014, 02:19 PM   #2

As a recent newbie I asked this same question not long ago.
We also use the NPS campgrounds a lot as well as Forest Service CG's. Same issue, no hook ups
Plug your TT directly into the generator. Your TT is equipped with a converter that will more efficiently charge the batteries (more amps) while also providing A/C power to the coach. We found running the generator for just a couple hours during the afternoon (minimum disturbance to others) we could keep the batteries topped off. Others can give you more detail on which appliances require how much power etc. But for us simple campers this has worked out really well.
Happy Trails
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	_MG_1250.jpg
Views:	330
Size:	375.5 KB
ID:	66306  

Currently enjoying second childhood
Canonman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2014, 03:34 PM   #3

X2 On both counts. Shore power cord into your gen and be courteous. Generally speaking, 11-4 are the best hours to run your genny.
Old 11-12-2014, 03:38 PM   #4
Phat Phrog Stunt Team

This will help.

Ps don't expect to run your
a/c unit.

Your looking at about 14 amps out of that gennie.

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&sour...H2HtEQG-Vneu3w

TURBS.
Old 11-12-2014, 04:01 PM   #5

thanks for the info on how to hook it up. The information on the hours to use the generator make sense, but I was reading the campground and found the below statement.

Please be considerate of your fellow campers. Quiet
hours are from 10 p.m. to 6 a.m. Generators may
be run only between 7:30-10 a.m. and 4-8:30 p.m.
Generators are not allowed in the D and E Loops.