Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-01-2013, 08:41 AM   #11
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoMoney View Post
Yep, I've read many a thread by you Lou regarding inverters.

At this moment I have.

1. 1 x Cobra cpi1575 $50 (crossing fingers if the micro will work)
2. 1 x 50ft RJ11 Remote (thrown in)
3. 3 x 10ft 4AWG (Copper) welding cables red/black/green. $20
4. 2 x 12VDC Battery terminals w/Disconnect feature. $8
5. 1 x 25ft 12/3 Romex AC wire $25 (No idea where how to wire: Will be talking to an electrician.)


My intention is to keep it disconnected and only turn it on if I absolutely need 120VAC in the coach and no shore power available or gen allowed.
This is how I wired mine:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	My wiring diagram.jpg
Views:	8851
Size:	61.9 KB
ID:	26876  
__________________

__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 12:26 PM   #12
Member
 
SoMoney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 68
Thanks for Diagram Lou! That's great to have! Here is my conceptual drawing of whats going on in my rv.


Ordered the fuse w/100,150Amp anl fuses.
That MC stuff just might be the ticket. I never knew it came pre wired.
I could literally run that to the back and put an AC replicable next to my 50A.
or
I could run that directly to the breaker panel under the master bead and get my electrician buddy to put it on a dedicated 10-15A breaker.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ZRV-1.png
Views:	415
Size:	32.3 KB
ID:	26883  
__________________

__________________
SoMoney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 01:49 PM   #13
Member
 
SoMoney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 68
Thought I'd finish up this thread with my installation.
Note: The inverter is stuck to the floor with Velcro until I get the right screw lengths for permanent installation.

I tested it with an extension cord too the 1100W magic chef microwave and it does work (voltage drops to 11.5v while cooking at back up to 12.7 after).

I'll start a second thread for phase #2 (A/C wiring) when I decide exactly where & how the conduit is going to run.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	zinverter-seat1.jpg
Views:	174
Size:	53.5 KB
ID:	27417   Click image for larger version

Name:	zinverter-floor1.jpg
Views:	181
Size:	52.2 KB
ID:	27418   Click image for larger version

Name:	zinverter-battery1.jpg
Views:	291
Size:	56.0 KB
ID:	27419   Click image for larger version

Name:	zinverter-switch1.jpg
Views:	188
Size:	56.5 KB
ID:	27420   Click image for larger version

Name:	zinverter-switch2.jpg
Views:	188
Size:	55.6 KB
ID:	27421  

__________________
SoMoney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 09:14 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Oliver, BC, Canada
Posts: 43
I know this is an old thread but it contains some bad advice. Don't plug your shore power into your invertor. Remember when you do this you are supplying 110VAC to the units charger which is supplying 12VDC to the battery(s) that your invertor is using to make the AC. Kind of a perpetual motion scenario. This could damage your units charger and your invertor and maybe generate a little smoke. It is not a good idea.
__________________
RV- 2014 Thunderbolt XLR 386X12 Called "The Castle"
TV- 2013 Ram 3600 DRW Diesel Called "Hercules"
rick42wood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 10:48 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Hugh R's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 174
Nice thoughtful thread. I want to run my two TV's and a Wi-Fi Hi-Def receiver transmitter between the two TVs and power the DISH tailgater before I go to bed. Maybe even run the coffee grinder. I do have house lights which I believe are 12 volt, but they run off the converter (not inverter). In the left rear outside cabinet is where the 50 Amp power cable is located. If I want shore power, I pull it out through an access hole and I plug into the shore power, if I want it to run off of the generator I plug the same plug into a socket in the same cabinet and run the generator.

My thought was to put the inverter in the house battery box under the doorway step and run as heavy duty an electrical extension cord as I can get from the inverter to the back left rear cabinet and plug it in to the house power cord when I want to run the TVs, etc, with shore power non-existent, or limitations on running the generator (like at CA state parks after 8PM).

I can make the refrigerator go to gas only, so I wouldn't be powering it off of the inverter, and I understand I wouldn't be able to run the A/C and other heavy use items. Water pump and lights run on the battery anyway. I'd probably put some sort of circuit breaker in-line, unless the inverter comes with one, just in case someone tried to turn on one of the A/C units.

Any thoughts, I hope I was clear enough.

2013 Coachmen Mirada.
__________________
2013 Mirada 29SE, I earned it!
Hugh R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 11:13 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Oliver, BC, Canada
Posts: 43
This is what I would do if you can find a way to pull the cables. Install a dedicated outlet where the TV is and run a cable to it from the battery box. Put a plug on it and plug it into the invertor. Then connect the invertor to the battery. Plug a power bar into the dedicated outlet and then plug in whatever you want to run without the generator or shore power. The TV and other electronics will always be running off the invertor even with shore power or the generator so you never have to worry about not using certain things. Hopefully you have a pure sign wave invertor and preferably one with a remote so you can turn it off and not waste power running the fan when you don't need to.
__________________
RV- 2014 Thunderbolt XLR 386X12 Called "The Castle"
TV- 2013 Ram 3600 DRW Diesel Called "Hercules"
rick42wood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 12:01 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Great Horned Owl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Lake County, Illinois
Posts: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by rick42wood View Post
I know this is an old thread but it contains some bad advice. Don't plug your shore power into your invertor. Remember when you do this you are supplying 110VAC to the units charger which is supplying 12VDC to the battery(s) that your invertor is using to make the AC. Kind of a perpetual motion scenario. This could damage your units charger and your invertor and maybe generate a little smoke. It is not a good idea.
Actually, it is ok to plug the shore power cord into the inverter IF you make sure that the converter is always off when the inverter is on. I wanted to wire mine that way, but I knew that sooner or later, I would forget to turn the converter off.

I decided that I needed to automate it. I connected a normally closed relay to the inverter. Then, I routed the power to the converter through the relay contacts. Now, whenever the inverter turns on, the relay activates, opens the contacts, and cuts off the power to the converter. The relay cost a whopping $6.

Although it wasn't really required, I spent another few bucks and wired a red neon pilot light across the relay coil, and a green neon pilot light across the converter input. Now, at a quick glance, green means shore power is on, while red means the inverter is on.

All in all, this is probably the simplest, least expensive, and most convenient way to add an inverter.

Joel
__________________
2011 Silverado 2500HD Duramax, 4x4, crew cab, long bed
Palomino Puma 253-FBS, 27' 5th wheel
1994 19' Class B on Chevy chassis
Great Horned Owl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 12:21 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Oliver, BC, Canada
Posts: 43
Excellent suggestion but can I wire a light to my wife to warn me when she is going to plug the coffee pot into the invertor power?
__________________
RV- 2014 Thunderbolt XLR 386X12 Called "The Castle"
TV- 2013 Ram 3600 DRW Diesel Called "Hercules"
rick42wood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 12:26 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 101
Once a dedicated inverter outlet has been wired in the rv. Can you keep that appliance plugged in(TV) when using shore power or generator. Would it be like an ups (uninterrupted power supply) system? Or would you have to unplug and replug to an outlet that is sourced by the generator or shore power, and turn off the inverter.
__________________
Salmon Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 12:31 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Oliver, BC, Canada
Posts: 43
Yes, it is exactly like a UPS system. You would leave the TV plugged in all the time.
__________________

__________________
RV- 2014 Thunderbolt XLR 386X12 Called "The Castle"
TV- 2013 Ram 3600 DRW Diesel Called "Hercules"
rick42wood is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27 PM.